You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AskSteemit: What was that Facebook suggestion that made you wonder "how did it know?"?

in #asksteemit6 years ago (edited)

That was when I joined Steemit!

I didn't use Facebook much last year, and I didn't use it at all around November and December. In January, I joined Steemit. Then I met some people and started using Facebook more because I had to organise some communities for content-creation for Steemit and Steemit-related people.

When I used it again in the first week of January, the first thing I saw was a Steemit post ad. Someone had promoted their post and Facebook had thought that it was relevant to me. I shared the screenshot around and haven't ever seen Facebook with the same eyes as before.

I mean, I didn't even mention Steemit because it was my "secret project". Only people I talk to on Telegram knew of this at that moment. I don't even know what led them on it. Is some Steemit service selling info? Are they listening to my devices?

Sort:  

I haven't heard of any Steemit services selling info yet.

Steemit/Busy.org and other Steem apps already have lots of tracking scripts following users so it should not be a surprise that info will leaked to Facebook and others.

See this screen of all the scripts on a random Busy post:
busy01a.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02