You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The value of Steem

in #asksteemit6 years ago

It's a great question really. It seems like socializing in this kind of format has different layers. Anytime money is involved (in whatever form holding value) it becomes more difficult to trust sincerity.

A lot of us can see through bs most of the time here... but many are schmoozing to get a vote or socializing to get some attention. Finding a balance between having a rewarding discussion and getting rewards for a discussion can be difficult for those coming with only money on their minds.

I do believe there is a pretty big learning curve too. I know that I understand much more now and feel more confident to chime in here and there... more than I did back then anyway. For me, I hate texting to communicate. I prefer verbal communication... so in many instances, I tell myself I will come back to respond and never make it. Then I feel guilty and beat myself up. So, I read a lot of stuff... but don't always choose to engage.

I know that sometimes I feel like chiming in on some threads seems like butting into a discussion that I wasn't invited to. As you can see... I overthink everything, so maybe that is sometimes the case as well.

Most of the time... for the money users though... i think whatever gets the most money and support with the least amount of work or effort is the M.O. I doubt you would want to engage deeply with most of them anyways. I will end my rant there... but this post did hit a nerve that I could relate to in different ways... and I did read it all and wanted to let you know!

We aren't all #alone ALL THE TIME!
Just MOST of it! hahhaha

Keep On Steemin On My Friend!

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to post such a big comment. I did read it also.
Soon the"good post" comments will be a thing of the past.

Maybe it worked at first and people would actually upvote that type of thing, but it's gonna get difficult for them when the vote turn to flag.

Then people with a brain and actual ideas might come forward.

I agree. I feel bad for the new non english speakers who are meaning well though when they say that. I don't upvote those very often either way because usually, it's spam city!

I also think that the way things show up in the feed is a little out of touch and impacts participation. I miss most of the best posts to engage with because I may not be on when a good one floats across my feed.

Thanks for reading my long comment! hahaha Maybe brains will be the wave of the future?! Or maybe it's just wishful thinking....

One way to get the good posts is to clean up the users you follow regularly. I still follow too much and may change that soon enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66