AskSteemit: Where do you see the price of Steem in 2019?

in #asksteemit7 years ago

Steem has made some insane moves at the beginning of this year.

Many expected it to and knew that Steem usually always lagged behind a bit when alts were moving up, either due to the nature of how Steem is aquired or the continuous printing of new tokens which many others don't have. It doesn't seem to have cared too much about it though and taken it's place with a quick and high uptrend like many others.

This chart shows the graph of steem 1 year back from today.

2 months ago I made this quick prediction of the chart of how I thought Steem would go and I'm surprised it looks pretty much like it now in the graph. The post can be found here.

Although I expect some correction to follow soon and Bitcoin probably making more moves upwards (which surprisingly doesn't seem to have affected all too many altcoins, maybe people are just using BTC as a gateway to alts now considering its dominance hasn't moved much) but in the long run I do believe Steem will continue to climb. Whether the latest moves have been due to the new additions to the network coming, like Communities and SMT's or if it's just a reflection of the activity and traffic is hard to tell, could probably be a little of both.

Where do you see the price of Steem in the beginning of 2019?


Sort:  

I just told my fiance today it would be atleast $100 by this time next year! She hated steemit since I joined in August........ but after i told her that she signed up immediately! Lmao..

@moderndayhippie Is the Wedding still on ??

Lol, yeah but now shes mad i didnt get her to sign up sooner! Im always in the wrong! Ha

Steem will rise even further post 2018, much beyond $100, especially if the SMTs become popular by then, which it is bound to.

She hated steemit since I joined in August........ but after i told her that she signed up immediately!

Show her how we encourage new users with their introductions and she will be hooked!

By the way, I have a recent post on a related topic - Ten Ways You Can Use Steem When It Hits $10.

Oh i agree it will be much higher than $100.. but the truth is most people have a hard time comprehending that, so i pick a number other people can somewhat believe. I honestly think it could be closer to $500 or more 😉

I try to be both optimistic and realistic but check myself with pessimism.

The optimist says between 50-100 by summer 2019.
The realist says 30 to 50 but pressuring 50 often enough.
The pessimist says 'Sell now before it hits zero!' <<< my wife.

the hunter / hoarder dynamic never goes away..lol

So funny. I was having this conversation with my wife today too. And she said the same thing. I reminded her of the guy who bought pizza with bitcoins - he could have been a millionaire. She conceded :)

In fact it is now $200M at BTC $20K for 10K BTC :)

That's an insane amount of money - I wish!

Sounds like we have the same wife!

Why would she think it would hit zero? :O

2019 is a long way. Many new and awesome thing will now. But now just focusing in 2018.

Great explanation. hahahah.

Haha, this is awesome 😂

I feel steem will climb and be pumped and bounce a couple of times due to the price of bitcoin but it will definitely at least be in the $12 to $15. Damn how about you tell us how much so we can gamble on your prediction if your new one is as good as your last guess.

I'd say $200+ considering the amount of people coming into this platform on a daily basis... Steem should be well embraced by crypto enthusiasts.

I feel like this year Steem is showing a lot of potential, this year I see it from a range of $15-30 being realistic

I see it at 3 figures!

So at least 100$!

It’s up to us the community if this project has success or not! So we need to put our best!

I personally see Steemit as more of a "test net" than anything.. the steem network is truly amazing doesnt need steemit at all to be honest, it is just needs a test platform to show what it can do and to figure some things out.. steemit wont ever be why steem goes to the moon, it will be because of the incredibly fast transactions on a huge network and the capability to carry other smt's.. as much as i love steemit, i personally dont ever think it will carry the steem network.. steem will eventually be kinda like an etherium platform, carrying other smt coins on its network..
hopefully this sparks a conversation not an argument.. what do u think @acidyo?
😊 take care.

Do you think the smart tokens (on top of steem) will just compete with steem itself in terms of price? A successful platform does not necessarily mean a high price. I am thinking like the new APPICS coin on top of steem. Interested to hear your thoughts on this.

I dont know if compitition would be the right idea. If the value of an smt on steem would rise that would help the steem network, not just the smt itself.
Hypothetically Steemit could fail and the steem network would be just fine. Appics is just one of the smt's i was talking about. There will be many more tokens to come, which will make this platform very strong.
You are right,

A successful platform does not necessarily mean a high price

But since this platform will host so many other good smt's/tokens that means it will have a lot of value. And since its (micro) transactions are so incredibly fast and basically free, it will attract other companies to build on this networt, that's what will bring the real value to steem.
People dont realize how important speed is when dealing with cryptos, i personally even hate waiting for even litecoin transfers cuz they are so damn slow, and screw bitcoin it gives me anxiety waiting on that transfer plus the fees are ridiculous!
We cant have cryptos as the future with lagging transfers and huge fees.. speed and (basically) no fees will win in the end.
But thats my thoughts on it, and my opinion is worth what u paid for it ;) Lol..

@fknmayhem or someone correct me if im wrong on how i explained this

well if it hits it ATH of .007 BTC that will be a little over $100 already. I think we could definitely see that by 2019. With the crazy year the altcoin market is going to have, we could even see it this year.

If the growth is proportional from year to year and the market cap grow way up.
I will say Steem has to grow and reach $100 way before 2019.
BTC will be $50000 then.
I see bright future for Steem.
Keep on HODLING.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56