AskSteem: If one were to help grow your account, what would you do for Steem in return?

in #asksteem5 years ago

After reading some negative comments on users who have not done much or given much back to the platform except for spinning crypto news articles and votetrading while upvoting themselves half the time, then complaining that Steem is not worth as much as it used to be. I really wonder how they go by in life, is this some sort of millennial thing where they're always the center of attention and can't get enough of the first time they landed on some money?

I don't know about you but I do find it pretty disgusting, there are so many accounts that Steem has made a big impact in their lives. They've also been lucky to be here early and figure out the ways to get to a lot of stake but giving back is something that seems ridiculous to them - on a platform that literally incentivizes you for rewarding others. Am I the only one that finds this behavior shocking?

Someone once told me that get your own finance in order before you start being altruistic with strangers on a blockchain. I sort of get that but at the same time I wish things didn't have to be that way. Not many of Steem this way but imagine the difference 1 vote could do to a user over a long time and a drastic change in price if it ever were to happen. This one vote, at the time worth $10, through inflation, curation and price changes could end up being a lot more in the future. I find it weird that some users take this for granted, wonder what they think when they've managed to turn their rewards into fiat or another coin and they look back at Steem. Do they think "I got my part for the efforts I put into the platform, I'm happy with it and can sleep at night" or do think "ha, I showed those suckers". Often times I think many of them think more of the latter considering they keep disappearing during bear markets, even though we've only had a few in Steem's charts.

Now there is no point to regret, I don't regret all the users I trusted that they deserve the rewards and will put them to good use in the future of the platform that made it all possible. Even if I could hardfork and take it all back somehow it doesn't matter anymore, Steem is much bigger than that, those that decided to desert it because of their lack of trust in this technology or depending on the ways they managed to cheat and lie their ways into a lot of stake that they then sold off at the first or second pump. They're not much better off, prices right now don't matter much, they're pennies compared to what is waiting beyond the horizon to infiltrate this space. They're reputation and experience from others will take a toll though, and unlike those that remained here they will find it hard to grow back the stake they decided to dump.

Just to be clear I'm not pointing out people that sold and left, more those that were really focused at quick profit through shady ways and then leave.

Anyway, with everything bad there's always something good in there as well. I keep finding new authors and users that I see using and enjoying the platform even though they have no stake nor are getting incentivized to do so. This will be the people that will be creating a ton of value for our blockchain because they're connecting with others and building platforms on top of our blockchain because they enjoy doing it, not because of the rewards that they may get.

I'm looking forward to find more people like that over the years and see to it that they get the attention and rewards they deserve from my own perspective, and I hope there will be many others doing something similar for the new users and accounts that deserve that chance after so many old ones have crapped all over theirs. Prices remaining low is good right now because it gives users that want to see this blockchain do what it is set out to do no matter what their ROI is or just focusing on using their influence on themselves, there are already examples of these, it seems the majority are new investors too so that's a good thing to see.

To get back to my question, almost forgot this was an AskSteem, will have to compensate with much shorter versions in the future.

AskSteem: if I were to help grow your influence on Steem through voting or delegation, what would you focus on doing with it in the future?

*hypothetical question... maybe.


Sort:  

I like your mindset @acidyo - reading you on this one means you're in here long term.

I don't know about you but I do find it pretty disgusting, there are so many accounts that Steem has made a big impact in their lives. They've also been lucky to be here early and figure out the ways to get to a lot of stake but giving back is something that seems ridiculous to them - on a platform that literally incentivizes you for rewarding others. Am I the only one that finds this behavior shocking?

No, but am over shocked. It looks like it's normalcy here nowadays. Sad but seems like it. Those were the kind that were probably thinking short term. What happened to how chirpy we all were about making Steem big back then? Everyone WAS so positive we would wipe fake buk out of this planet's face and then came the first time Steem rose up to $2 and they powered down like there's no tomorrow and left. Some came back and funny, I got so many of those voting me back way when my wallet was still fatter than theirs. The moment they got passed my SP I noticed they let their true monsters - I mean colors out. Well, cest la vie. Am sorry to share this here but you're not the only one who've seen these kinds but I guess it's how absolute freedom works. Everything is allowed here. It did discourage many users though specially those who really put out great and no shit posts.

To answer your question at the bottom, I'd probably ask you to send it to my anonymous account. It's because I'd totally support the newbies. It was growth that made the Steem price in 2017 and early 2018 imho. If we could just bring many utubers here, we might as well explode.

Am spreading the word there very often, we're not known. I can't dare say join Steem and I'll help you because my SP is almost of no influence even though it's passed 10k. I have been spreading the word there - present progressive. We're a more attractive platform, imho but the trending page doesn't say so specially when they finally get in and discover bid bots. Sighs and a million more sighs.

Why to the anonymous account? It's better if there , that one has almost no activity (aside from delegation atm), meaning it'll only support. Why the newbie? We all know how discouraging it is to get no support when you're new here, specially if your wallet is null. It's discouraging to continue for those who posts great posts and see shit post trending, that's why. How are we going to keep growing population and value wise if that's the only very obvious thing that's here. I have to say I miss the good old days, back when we still have many sponsored contests that were newbie oriented. Am not going to write you a novel here but if you take me into consideration, consider what I wrote here done.

Loading...

Do they think "I got my part for the efforts I put into the platform, I'm happy with it and can sleep at night" or do think "ha, I showed those suckers". Often times I think many of them think more of the latter considering they keep disappearing during bear markets, even though we've only had a few in Steem's charts.

I think they think that it wasn't enough. It's never enough. No matter how much you earn. And then when it goes back up, they're gonna come back and try to get more.

I can kinda feel that a lot of times on here. You post some things that you put your heart into and you feel like it's not enough. Especially when the blockchain is rewarding others that just sort of churn your stomach.

But...the blockchain doesn't really owe us anything.

This is an opportunity though.

Just to be clear I'm not pointing out people that sold and left, more those that were really focused at quick profit through shady ways and then leave.

There are a lot of people that do that in the world. In the normal world some of their shit catches up to them sometimes. Sometimes they lead massive companies that make massive profit.

if I were to help grow your influence on Steem through voting or delegation, what would you focus on doing with it in the future?

I have no fucking clue. I can't think of much to do with my personal account. I've got a few ideas for projects that I really outta start getting more work done on. With my personal account I do the same thing so many people on here do. I post things. I write things. I upvote people that I think deserve the rewards...and occasionally I give back to myself a bit with that. I went a long time without self voting, but I've come to the conclusion that many people are just out for themselves, so you do have to do a bit for yourself.

That doesn't mean that you have to wait until you're well off to give back though. But you might wanna limit what you do give back at least a bit, so you can take care of yourself. But, statistically, many of those that give the largest percentage are those that have the least. The situation of millionaires doing amazing things giving away huge sums of money is an exception. Even when they do, it's often just a small percentage, while there are people going hungry that often share half of what little they have.

So I'd just keep supporting friends posting good content, as well as strangers.

I'd like to eventually do a curation project for geek content...but I have other project ideas that I should start on first. Some of those would be helped with delegations or growing their accounts, once they're active, but people will decide that for themselves.

I think I would continue to do what I've been doing from day 1 Acid. Support some proven authors, discover some new...keep creating accounts for giveaways...engage with others as much as I can and keep investing in steem either by exchanging some other cryptos or fiat. The more influence (SP) someone has, the more can help others grow as well :)

Tbh I wish I had more time to spend around and get involved in various projects but unfortunately i usually must complete 10 - 12 hour shifts on my day job...which sucks.

And since I've been around for 15 months only...what did you mean by that?

Just to be clear I'm not pointing out people that sold and left, more those that were really focused at quick profit through shady ways

Shady ways such as?

Over the course of Steem's existance and rule changes to the blockchain there has been a lot more backroom door deals such as "vote my account and I'll send you the post rewards through an exchange". Basically many attempting to max out and take as much value off of the platform from speculative money and investors being the ones getting rekt if they didn't hold for long term or sell in time. Might be a reason why many don't like Steem and haven't looked back at what's going on here. Anyway, nowadays most ways to maximize your ROI are out there in the open, we're starting to hit max "shady money being generated" but there will always be some that are invested and at the same time constantly taking a bite from the rewardpool which ends up on exchanges. Steem still has a long runway though and over the cycles it will filter itself out, there's always a price for people who aren't planning on being long term. If there is interest, they will find ways to get even the biggest steem fans to sell. :P

Anyway, due to not a lot of natural curation happening anymore I think this means that there's a lot less "easy" steem to be earned like there's been in the past. I imagine if the next bull run for BTC goes beyond past ATH's and Steem is still going strong we will see numbers in our ATH we haven't thought be possible so soon. Oh well, time will tell. This comment got sidetracked quite a lot already. :P

"vote my account and I'll send you the post rewards through an exchange".

Sad...really, if not pathetic

I understand that everyone has a selling point, I also know that nearly everyone is struggling for attention. Even proven authors that have major support...but c'mon..."vote me and i'll send you the rewards?" disgusting....at least.

I imagine if the next bull run for BTC goes beyond past ATH's and Steem is still going strong we will see numbers in our ATH we haven't thought be possible so soon.

The most important thing isn't to see steem climbing at 10$ or 15$...the most important thing at least imo is that a "floor" must be created (let's say at 3$) and steem never go below that again...At least for those who are 100% powered up. I mean would people be happy if steem reaches 15$ for a week and then dips down to 1 $ again? Trade wise it would be super awesome of course....

Stable growth would be so much better for the ecosystem and businesses being built on top.

That's why I would't mind watch steem sitting at .40$ even for the whole year. I see it as great opportunity for accumulation, before we take off...Sounds crazy?

Some might laugh at this...I guess they are the ones that want financial success...and they want it now

Many of those people might be fucked if their local tax authority doesn't give a fuck that they had some bullshit deal like that and considers it all income.

Well said mate, well said! Beautifully written and i agree with your sentiment.

Personally i would do what im already doing, which is supporting and leading the @ecotrain community.. more delegation would mean I can launch some great initiatives to help promote important causes .. ive learned well after 2 years that there’s nothing like a good upvote to incentify people and improve
Engagement..

With ocdb you have given me a tool I needed to help my account grow! Thank you for that! I love engaging and passing along a little Steem each week through the Shadow Photo Contest Round 62- Geometric Shadows. Because of OCD I am at a place where I will be increasing the prizes and spreading a bit more Steem around, so thanks for that!

I am a witness to your good doings Melinda... you have such good deeds and the number of growing contestants and followers can be seen via your account...and a lot have joined your challenge because it is only not fun to do, but there are lots of interactions and comments going on each week... through your contest, I met a lot of new Steemians. MANY THANKS TO YOU!

Thanks so much for your kind words @mers. I appreciate that you took the time to write that and I am so glad that you have found new friends in the 'shadows'! It is a fun place to be and I enjoy seeing all the creativity!

You´re welcome.

I have been here for what I consider a while and have seen a lot of what you mention, I don't even have plans to sell my Steem in the next 10 years, my goal is to reach a level where I can sustain myself with Steem and since the number for that to happen is not too crazy, I think it is probable.

I've invited and continue to invite people into the platform that I believe can thrive in here, a lot leave but a few have stayed :-)

In the early days I used to upvote myself in the comments to bring myself to the top but realised that was being wasteful. Now I instead support a few curation trails with my votes and I'd like to believe that helps and motivates people to stay...

The last time I checked on Steem world I think my selfvote percentage was below 6% and I was voting over 350 different accounts each week :-)

I wish I could give more, cuz I like giving more than I like receiving and thats why I love Steem :-)

I have the same long term plans! I haven’t sold any Steem but I guess I’m in a different financial position than others that need to. Love the name BTW, final fantasy FTW

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well I understand that many people may have different opinions, but I for one have been helped by @fulltimegeek. Starting way back with a delegation from the Stewards of Gondor to even now getting a bump from some of his bots. To me that selfless and giving attitude is and has been an example I try to modal albeit in a smaller scale. I currently have had just north of 20% of my SP delegated to a few smaller accounts that produce good content and give genuine comments. Could I get a higher ROI by delegating a different way, most likely, but this works for me. I get that we cant help everyone, but we can all help someone :)

Hello,
it depends on the ideals you have, if they fit together with my own I would help to spread your ideas or initiatives you make, and as I understand after reading your post, they do.
Have a wonderful day
Tom

Posted using Partiko Android

First comment... I'm already doing it!

Funding and blowing up @theplayersclub which I've been very open to growing the smallest steemians.

Grew the Cannabis community and also helping grow @cannabis-news which is providing some amazing work. A Federal challenged to Cannabis prohibition? Yes please let me help him!

So yeah I'm down to grow back. Still haven't taken anything out for myself just put it into making more friends bigger!

And even encouraged my enemies to get bigger!

Thanks man here is a vote! Not much but it's love!

Pay it forward! Show love and help the little people...

Oh and yeah @powpow420 is also another undervalued author...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha... I am following you on Smoke.io man! Get it on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00