You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Payouts with zero votes? What's going on here?

in #asksteem5 years ago

While it's probably irrelevant now, I said I would make a comment here detailing the debugging process I used. Ready or not, here it comes.

intellij
The grey window in the background is Intellij, an Integrated Development Environment I use for java programming. The three lines of code highlighted in red are instructions for Intellij telling it to suspend execution there so I can poke around in the variables during runtime. These three lines happen to be right around where my frontend (the white foreground window) does the networking to get the data about a given post or comment. Sauna will stop running when it reaches these lines and I can look at the values of the data it's working with. In this case we are getting a comment on this post written by @valued-customer that begins with a quotation.

Broken
After I click the fetch post button, we get this. It shows the list of variables at the bottom for the suspended program, and their values. To take a closer look at the variable named "out" I simply click the View link to the right of it.
Jsonview
It pops up with a nice little window that contains the entirety of the variables contents. This includes the voter information in this case, and this is where I got that list of four upvotes I said were on that comment.


Painstaking may have been a bit of an exaggeration, this actually ended up being shorter than I thought it would. I did kind of go fast and gloss over some details, but if you were wondering about what I meant by debugging this is the best explanation you'll receive from me.

Good luck out there folks.

Sort:  

Thank you for that detailed explanation. I appreciate it very much indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67