.... sometimes I play around with little things in the studio

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

“You need to let the little things that would ordinarily bore you suddenly thrill you.”
― Andy Warhol


DSCN7506ps-web1600-2.jpg
ZOOM

a small frame found made a good fit for one of those little decalcomania thingies I have lots of, created at times when I was bored. These were done with acrylics on plastic film. This one was transferred onto a carton and the background painted gold.

These are the kind of things you won't find on my website, but if you visit my studio .......



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg


About my Work

Sort:  

Golden and gaudy! Strange composition, and I love the texture and colours so much !

thank you - one barely notices it on my studio wall with all the other stuff hanging - it is quite small.

as you know i have been off the machine..just catchingup and finding your little jewel. So lovely!!

thanks - yes, I know, same here. I had fun in Sedan and Paris - miss you guys already!

I like the textures and the way the central image seems to be embodied in the yellow mass around it, and love that weird "fractal" aspect you got with this decalcomanies. :)
Very nice !

thank you - simple trick: using thin acrylic paint on plastic, folding it like a Rohrschach. Acrylic would bead on plastic, so you have to degrease it first. Then you layer behind with white (can use pastel shades also). To transfer, coat a couple of times with acrylic medium and stick it onto your support (canvas, panel, carton etc.) Once thoroughly dry, you can gently pull off the plastic, using a bit of water helps loosen it.

Wow what a cool effect - I totally agree it is like an analog fractal! Looks great in the frame. What is the scale here - is that frame like 4" by 4" or so?

thanks - 4"x4", yes, something like that.

Thanks for sharing ! :)
That's one more thing to test in these always-too-short days :D

its a fun process to play with.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

thank you - I appreciate it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38