Completed drawing of pencil drawing I was working on

in #artzone6 years ago

Extracted from my previous post on this here : https://steemit.com/art/@stephennevets/current-drawing-i-m-working-on-7912c4852d78f

image

image
Hello everyone and welcome to another art post from me.
It's been a few days but I'm still drawing despite the stress that comes with school.
Today though.. I will be posting about a drawing I am currently working on. This was contracted to me a few days ago and I have been having less than an hours chance per day to work on it. This is my third day though and this is where my progress is.
Model : Unknown
Mode : Portrait
Tools : 9B, GPC charcoal pencil,Soft brush.
Surface : Cartridge sketchpad.
This artwork when completed will be gifted at the models 60th year birthday which is cool cos my artwork will be presented in front of quite a few people. (Every artists dreams of this). I am glad though that I have ample time to draw this.

STEP 1

i draw the grid into a 12 by 16 inches size.. Total of squares I had to make was 768. Crazy right? I know. But this isa necessary evil as I need to make sure everything in this drawing is very precise.

image

STEP 2

I begin to draw the outline of the image of the woman starting from her head gear Also called 'gele' in my dialect. This is one of the crucial parts.. Making a mistake here can lead to a whole lot of frustration but once done correctly, the results are beautiful.
image

STEP 3

I begin to shade right from the fore head. There are delicate soft shades here and I have to be careful so I will not have to darken any place unnecessarily. I'm using my 9B pencil to make both the light shades and dark shades by variating the force I apply on the paper.

image

STEP 4

I jump to the eyes and leave the glasses frame untouched yet. Since the glasses will need to bw really black.. I decided to shade it earlier so I won't have to smudge darker shades into the soft shadings of the eyes.
image

STEP 5

I then take my GPC charcoal pencil and begin to make extremely dark shades to fill in the glasses frame. This really makes the drawing come to life a bit. I then realize the eye pupil wasn't so dark so I applied my GPC pencil on the pupil and boom... Looks more realistic.
image

STEP 6

i begin to draw the rest of the face down to the neck. This part is tricky because the face was smooth and I was trying to make a few parts of it rough and have skin textures. One things about pictures edited with photoshop like this tend to be too smooth : Skin texture wise.
image
image

STEP 7

i wrap up the drawing by drawing the head gear. Now this was where the trouble was. I faced a lot of trouble doing this as this was the most complex part of the drawing. I had to improvise and make the patterns into something I was more comfortable with and could work fast with. I was already hitting the deadline and the work had to be framed, packaged and delivered to Ondo city the next day. I won though. It got there and she loved the work.
image
image
image

Here are a few of my works for your viewing pleasure
image
image
image

IMAGES SOURCE : All images were taken with my infinix X572

image
Thanks for stopping by. Keep steeming

Sort:  

This is awesome, I love the finishing. It look so beautiful...keep firing up!

Un-voted for one or more of the following reason(s).

  • Plagiarism
  • Repost of previous work
  • The work in not a result of your direct effort.

Join this awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Hello... You said the work is not from my direct effort? That's enough to get me very angry.... Are you telling me something I worked on for a week is plagiarized?? What's this bullshit???.. Look over to my previous posts and see videos of me drawing.... Tcheeew

Hello... You said the work is not from my direct effort? That's enough to get me very angry.... Are you telling me something I worked on for a week is plagiarized?? What's this bullshit???.. Look over to my previous posts and see videos of me drawing.... Tcheeew

Hello @stephennevets, I think you misunderstood the comment from @knacksteem.org. It did not blatantly state that your work is not a result of your direct effort. The first line of the comment clearly states the reason for the un-unvote. It seems you have used images from your previous post here. I agree with you that this is not entirly a repost as it is a continuetion of your previous work.
Weldone !!!

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
bwom7tw1g5.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52