Current Drawing I'm working on

in #art6 years ago

image

Hello everyone and welcome to another art post from me.
It's been a few days but I'm still drawing despite the stress that comes with school.

Today though.. I will be posting about a drawing I am currently working on. This was contracted to me a few days ago and I have been having less than an hours chance per day to work on it. This is my third day though and this is where my progress is.

Model : Unknown
Mode : Portrait
Tools : 9B, GPC charcoal pencil,Soft brush.
Surface : Cartridge sketchpad.

This artwork when completed will be gifted at the models 60th year birthday which is cool cos my artwork will be presented in front of quite a few people. (Every artists dreams of this). I am glad though that I have ample time to draw this.

STEP 1

i draw the grid into a 12 by 16 inches size.. Total of squares I had to make was 768. Crazy right? I know. But this isa necessary evil as I need to make sure everything in this drawing is very precise.

image

STEP 2

I begin to draw the outline of the image of the woman starting from her head gear Also called 'gele' in my dialect. This is one of the crucial parts.. Making a mistake here can lead to a whole lot of frustration but once done correctly, the results are beautiful.
image

STEP 3

I begin to shade right from the fore head. There are delicate soft shades here and I have to be careful so I will not have to darken any place unnecessarily. I'm using my 9B pencil to make both the light shades and dark shades by variating the force I apply on the paper.

image

STEP 4

I jump to the eyes and leave the glasses frame untouched yet. Since the glasses will need to bw really black.. I decided to shade it earlier so I won't have to smudge darker shades into the soft shadings of the eyes.
image

STEP 5

I then take my GPC charcoal pencil and begin to make extremely dark shades to fill in the glasses frame. This really makes the drawing come to life a bit. I then realize the eye pupil wasn't so dark so I applied my GPC pencil on the pupil and boom... Looks more realistic.
image

Here's what the work looks like now.
image
image
.... I will be posting the completed part of this drawing as soon as I'm done with it on Friday. Really hoping to see you on my next thread.

Here are a few of my works for your viewing pleasure ;
image
image
image

IMAGES SOURCE : All images were taken with my infinix X572

image
Thanks for stopping by. Keep steeming

Sort:  

You have a real talent for this. And the fact you put in alot of dedication even though you have other commitments. Keep up the awesome work 😁

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hello @stephennevets, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84