You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Emergency Post! - Memories of an Idiot (25 July 2017)

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

I wonder if you have found out the error and fixed it now? I hope so ^^.

"Mom castrating her son" sounds so ominous XD. But it's funny that you draw better the more inconsequential piece of paper you use, though I think even on good paper, you will still draw very well.

This one page of comic is very lovely, Javier. It shows a panel of landscape, people arguing, a car, and everything is drawn nicely with good perspective. My favourite panel is when he was laying on his bed, thinking, shot from the ceiling. Love it <3.

Sort:  

Yes.. I had to produce this Emergency post! to save my blog feed.. Btw, I was sure you 're gonna get into one of my delicious captions, lol.
Yes "Mom castrating her son". This could be the beginning of a serial of posts XD. Father is a dictator, furious and distant, mother is nice, dedicated, taking care of her son but not the son.. See what I mean? Both, father and mother are guilty of the misadventures of my Idiot.

Probably could be humiliating her son, but sometimes a questionable translation makes the story even better :)

Thank you @ecoinstant! I have a French version and a Spanish version. Mothers in those countries are mostly "castrator" ones . "Castration" is a psychoanalyst theory. Typical from narcissistic parents where children are no more than flowers vases. In a narcissistic family, children are not human beings, they are "things" that belong to their parents, like the car or the dog. In this situation, children don't develop the necessary capabilities of the self. They constantly refer to their parents to take decisions in life, because, they were not given the opportunity to decide by themselves. "Shut up and do what I tell you to do". This sentences is well known from adults being suffered a narcissistic parent. Nevertheless, this phenomenon is more popular in Catholic countries than in Protestant countries. For a narcissistic father, his son is a "genius", as long as he does what the father wants him to do. This behavior produces high quality idiots.

The healing begins when the adult child realizes that he is an idiot and assumes that his place in the world is not what his father had promised.

For more references, psychotherapist Alice Miller has written a very interesting book "The Drama of the Gifted child".

This is very interesting analysis. I would love to take a look at the spanish version, but I can wait for a future reveal if necessary.

I have seen that 'genius' sons often feel trapped by parental pressure. I think I had a different childhood, I was labelled intelligent, then I ran away to South America.

My parents did not think I was a genius after that ;-p

Spanish Version. I hope you can read it:
pagina 1 scan limpio español RC 1.jpg

Very interesting! I like your art style, and the story is contained to one page, though your extra analysis here helped me for sure.

Would you ever consider continuing this as a series? I suspect there is more to unpack in Churrito's growth ;p

Well, this page was laying somewhere in my messy archives.. If an interest is detected, for sure, I could dedicate some times to my Idiot :)

Well, you have one in me, he seems like a very relate-able idiot ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95