Calling The Spirit Animals

in #artzone6 years ago

What's happening Steemtribe,

today I'm gonna share with you a digital painting I created a few years back when my artwork took a bit of a different direction. Back then I just came out of a creative crisis which lasted for several years after I lost confidence in the relevance of the artwork I did prior to that period. I wasxwaiting for guidance, for my inner voice to tell me what to change and where to find inspiration. I was frustrated with the world, myself, and the universe, which I secretly accused of letting me down. After all, creating artwork was my calling, or so I thought, and not getting excited about new projects and ideas left me feeling empty and without a purpose.

Shaman Girl Detail

Shaman Girl Detail.jpg

I started meditating more frequently, smoked more weed, experimented with other forms of creativity boosters, but it wasn't until I gave myself a break and stopped trying to force things that i slowly got my mojo back. I went for long walks with my dog, spent lots of time outside and felt an even deeper appreciation for nature and all life that roamed the Earth. There were times when everything seemed so clear, the connection between all things, how things we don't want manifest into our lives and how I had to stop thinking about how to repair all that's broken and focus on what is already perfect.

Snow Owl Detail

Snow Owl Detail.jpg

Wolf Detail

Wolf Detail.jpg

Buffalo Detail

Buffalo Detail.jpg

During this time old memories came back of how as a teenager I was so drawn to Native Americans and their respect for Mother Earth and all living creatures. I remembered reading about Shamans being able to attract their spirit animal and receiving some sort of guidance and answers through them. I always yearned to be so in tune with nature that I could connect with animals and possibly even plants the way the Natives did. And that's why I dedicated one of my first paintings I created after this period of soul searching to this old vision I had and named it Calling The Spirit Animals.

Calling The Spirit Animals

Calling The Spirit Animals.jpg

I hope you enjoy, thanks for taking the time to stop by.

Sort:  

Really great image! :) I am grateful, that you shared the story behind your creativity, because it really happens with artists, and I believe it is also needed for going to the next phase of inspiration...
The Native energy you expressed in this peace is very profound and the details you summon are speaking by itself.
Blessing!

Thanks for the rad comment yo. You're absolutely right about the next phase thing, even though in this case it was even more than just inspiration, it was almost the next phase of life. One that's closer to the truth. Peace and light.

Ahh...Yes another great post. You've done it again. It must be that weed :)

Thank you brotherman, for the painting, yes, there was quite a bit of ganja involved, for the post itself, not so much. When I write while stoned I get carried away, I'd probably still be at it, lol.

I know exactly what you mean. I do music and when setting things up (the technical stuff) the ganj definitely slow's you down and confuses you. But when that's all done and you're ready for the creative part, usually the higher you fly the better.:)

Hahaha I'm glad we're speaking the same language. What kind of music you're into making?

I've been a bass guitarist for over 50 years, mostly playing rock/pop type music.

That's badass man, I always loved me some REAL bass. Remember Level 42? One of the only bands I'm aware of that had a bass as the leading instrument. This is one of their best:

Yes I had almost forgotten about Level42. Thanks for the video it really brought back memories. and as you say it's pretty badass :)
BTW. Sorry for the delay.

Hey Mushroom
Sorry to ask here but I don't now how to contact anyone. I guess you could reply to any of my posts (if you like).
My rewards page seems to be broken for the last 23 days so I get no more rewards for anything.
I posted about it here with screenshots https://steemit.com/steemit/@amd64/my-steemit-rewards-page-broken

I don't know if it's Steemit or my system but I noticed that yours and a few others I looked at seem to be the same.
Is yours blank default like mine (as depicted in that post) or is it just the way my system is seeing it?

I emailed contact@ steemit.com but I don't really expect an answer.
Screenshot of my Author rewards page2018-07-27 19:46:14.png

I have some minuscule earnings, insignificant but not all zeros like yours. Does it show on your posts that you had any earnings? Maybe people who upvoted didn't have any steem...

WOW its amazing! happy to have found you here on steemit!

Thank you, and this is definitely mutual. To top the cake you're from Denmark, one of my fav countries. Following you and looking forward to stay in touch :-)

thank you, that makes me very happy to hear :D Denmark is alright, but also a bit too flat and cold in many aspects! You're from Colorado? I found it pretty sweet over there too :D

Yup, Denmark is flat fo sure, the highest elevations most likely being sand dunes. You mean cold temperature wise or people being cold? I grew up in Germany but now live in Colorado, in the 'Boulder Bubble', where almost everything seems to be fine - as long as one doesn't confuse it with thinking that this is how America is in general. Where in CO have you been?

Both - temperature for sure, but people can also be a bit cold, or just very hard to get pass the barriers at times. Not very hospitable and sharing compared to other places I've been in the world, but I guess it's a very European thing, or northern, so not so different from Germany probably.
I was in Manitou Springs and.. what was it called.. Netherland! Then I met up with some friends with a schoolbus in Denver and traveled through New Mexico and Arizona to California :)

I know what you mean, traveling and meeting other cultures really vital in order to have a broader horizon. The coldness you describe and which I have definitely experienced in Germany, is nothing but fear. So sad, we're all the same species and all connected on a certain level but we always expect the worst from each other. Ugh, that cycle so needs to be broken.

Following you!! Mushroom rules!

Yes they do, lol. Nice to meet ya and following back. Ooh, and thanks for the resteem!

Excellent post! I included you in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you very much Julia, and I know this is kinda awkward, I apologize because I'm sure you have the best intentions, but I left a comment under your post, because something is off about the rewarding system here and I'd like to get input about how you feel about that. Again, I appreciate what you're doing and maybe this is just the way Steemit works, but I do think there are issues. Please let me know what you think. Best, Ralf

Hi Ralf, I left you a very long reply on the other comment, I will be happy to hear what you think.

Thank you very much, I replied with an almost equally long message. All good.
Best
Ralf

Incredible works, love your style!

Thank you very much, also for the follow, very much appreciated.

Congratulations @mushroomdreams! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90