Appreciating a wall at the mall

in #artzone5 years ago

I was invited to a debut party in June and I unfortunately do not have a dress that is fitted for the motif. So I went to the mall last weekend to supposedly window shop at the very least but guess where I ended up. In front of a wall!

This shot is one of the two that took longest of my time. I can't even remember how long I waited for passers by to clear up so I can take a good shot.
052708.59.19.jpg

As I mentioned on few of my previous posts, colors always draw my attention so did these colorful paintings, specially the butterflies and flowers.
052709.01.32.jpg

I immediately noticed the caption has price so I thought they might prohibit photo taking. I asked one of the sales ladies if I can take photos and she said "Yes, there are actually many people taking selfies with the paintings as background."

"Cool. Though, I won't ruin the art beauties with my selfie. Let them stand on their own," I thought.
052709.00.39.jpg

After taking few shots I got closer to one of the butterfly series paintings to have a better look at the material but the price shocked me. Fifteen thousand pesos for a 24 inches x 24 inches acrylic painting! That is US $287.60 with the convertion rate at the time of this writing. "Whoah, are paintings really that expensive?" I thought and suddenly turned to the sales lady whom I asked earlier.

"Fifteen thousand pesos for this small painting!?" I exclaimed asking her with my eyes wide open. 😲

She smiled and said, "yes, ma'am."

"I won't buy that," I thought but did not say a word.
052709.01.04.jpg

I continued to get closer to the paintings and take photos while I kept recalling the price. If I would spend for wall decor that much then I would rather go for high quality tarpaulin print. I may be able to cover four whole wall panels with such amount. Still, the price only means how valuable the paintings are. I am yet to absorb that.
052709.02.18.jpg

The next photo was hung high almost to the ceiling. I needed to zoom in but did not help much for me to get the caption and price but I am expecting the same. I wondered what bird it is but I am guessing it is Adarna which is a magical bird from Filipino epic poem.
052709.03.24.jpg

This peacock painting is titled "Majestic" and I wondered how come? Well yes, peacocks look majestic when they spread their wings which I can't get enough from watching them. Though I have to admit I don't see the majesty on the painting. Ah, I am yet to learn appreciating beyond the colors.
052709.02.57.jpg

I forgot the title of these photos so I will call them The Ships series. The paintings have the same content but have different shades and moods. This was my first time seeing such art differences side by side and I thought it was cool. It gives prospective buyers the idea and options to choose from depending on their moods. I like the one on the lower left side. It has brighter and happier mood.
052709.05.09.jpg

I love this pink rose painting! On a closer look the colors seem like just brushed by playing kids in primary school but on a general perspective, it is lovely with the right blend of colors and shade. The gradient transition suited very well even on the background. I still won't buy it for 15K though. It does not have caption thus no price tag but I assume it is more expensive than the butterfly series. That is because merchants have the style of not putting price tag on their items if it is too expensive for the general mass so as not to scare them away immediately.
052709.07.41.jpg

I call the next photo as Green Garden because it does not have a caption. I would love to have such a painting on a whole wall panel. It feels like the room will be very relaxing and cozy to have it on a wall. And the price? There was no tag but it is much bigger than the butterfly series so it could be 30K and above. Ah, I still want tarpaulin print.
052709.08.06.jpg

The next photo does not have caption but I guess we can generally say a mother's love nurturing her child as early as in the womb. What I can not relate to though are the paint brushes being used as crochet hooks. Painting and crocheting are both arts of totally different approaches but maybe that is something I am yet to realize and appreciate.
052709.07.11.jpg

Guitar. While only small parts of a guitar can be obviously deciphered on the painting, I guess what makes it more appealing is the puzzle-like presentation of the art and music in itself.
052709.08.32.jpg

Park of Colors and Bed of Flowers. If you have kids who can play and come up with something like this with their painting kit, buy them an acrylic canvass. It can earn them P3.5K (around US$ 67) for a 12 inches x 12 inches size. 👍
052709.04.00.jpg

There are more paintings but the above were my picks from the wall. I wanted so much to get landscape shots of the wall from the other side but I got more of this type instead.
052709.04.25.jpg

I finally had the chance after a long wait. It is not totally free of passersby and expectators but this will do.
052709.00.10.jpg

When I was done taking photos I realized it was starting to get dark. I ran to the department store but there weren't much choices for formal dresses. I already planned of going to another mall in Makati if I don't find my target here but it is getting late. Blame it on the wall! Wish me luck this coming weekend in finding that dress.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

Hi there, @macoolette! These works are truly outstanding, so vibrant and full of colours! What a spectacle.

Thanks a lot for sharing these beautiful photos!

Hi @trincowski. You're welcome and thanks for dropping by! How are you?

I'm fine, thanks.

Howdy macoolette! Did you find that dress yet? Hey these are so colorful and vibrant, I can see why you are attracted to them! So your house will have very colorful paintings on the walls?
hahaha I don't think you would have ruined a painting with a selfie! lol.
I really like that Adarna, that's one of my favorites.

Yap, I found a dress! It's at the dress shop though. I had to have the skirt trimmed a little.

I feel like taking selfie in front of the beautiful arts is stealing the stage from them. They also deserve the spotlight. 😊

Yap, the Adarna is very colorful. I just wished it wsd hung lower so I could have gotten a closer shot and not zoomed in.

howdy macoolette! I'm glad you found a dress, how much does it cost to have it trimmed?

I know what you mean about the selfie but I don't think it would take anything away from the art, it would just give a wonderful background but I would look at it the same way you are because the artwork is so special.

I wouldn't mind having a wall sized Adarna painting like that!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=appreciating-a-wall-at-the-mall


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #528.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you! 😊

You got a 29.95% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

@macoolette You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27