Sharing, an oil painting on the India theme.

in #artzone6 years ago

sharing-web.jpg

I have always enjoyed doing close-ups in my paintings, just as I enjoy isolating them in my mind when I look at paintings in museums.

Sharing is what it is all about for us humans. We give, we receive, and filling each other's needs brings us joy and fulfills our own.

When in India, I often focus on the details of human interaction and use them as inspiration. The close-up of these two women includes a number of elements that make me love India. Even poor women, and there are a vast number of them, find colors and patterns that make their daily lives poetic and make them interesting to an artist. They will often wear the brightest colors they can find and look wonderful in them. They complement their textiles with jewelry and are rarely seen without their bangles which are often made of glass and come in a rainbow of hues.

The most delicious fresh fruits I have ever tasted were in Southern India. Every day I would purchase bananas, mangoes, pineapples, papayas and ate them as my evening meal. I found it ironic that the "poor" Indians generally had a better diet than Americans. They don't own refrigerators, food is always fresh and cooking is a big part of life. There are no supermarkets; even in the more modern apartment buildings, people would come with carts of fresh fruit and vegetables every day.

Do I idealize India? Not really. I recognize that there are plenty of problems there, but the realization of this should not blind us to the true beauty and simplicity of daily life there.

JAWAHARLAL NEHRU
"We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open."

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @kathleenscarboro.

Lovely, lively and yet still...artistic work you have presented here......it communicates so beautifully the title.

Appreciate your talent at Steemit.

All the best to you.

Cheers.

Oh thank you @bentleycapital for your encouraging comments. Your work raises the general level of Steemit. Warm wishes,
Kathleen

The plate is very nice and very large
Really reflect the culture of a people
And express the civilization of a people
India is one of the most beautiful countries in the world

Thank you @roselover, yes India is a wonderful place, isn't it? I am following you as I too adore flowers and enjoy my garden so much!

Amazing work!
Sharing is essence of humanity.
Bless :)

Yes we all need each other, don't we. Thank you @spooks, I appreciate your support!

Your painting is awesome! Looks like a pop-art style, is it?

Thank you @fitrianizar, it is always a dilemma to put my paintings in a category, but if pushed I would choose the style of magic realism.

Hey @kathleenscarboro amazing artwork!!! ...I am from India....You find indian culture as inspiring thats really noticiable...Yes India is country with limited resources but with full of different traditions and cultures..and I will be glad If I see more post like this in future...upvoted already and followed...Its day I think in USA so have a nice day...

I think Indian culture is really inspiring. You create excellent works of art with this culture. I always respect you. congratulations

Thank you artizm. I much appreciate your commentaries.

Your painting shouts bold colours, just like how #india does... nice artwork...

Thank you @ladylens. Your support is appreciated.

This is a mighty great piece of art,... and appreciate your thoughts too :)

You got a 2.28% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @kathleenscarboro!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14