You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Havey’s Guide To Completing The UK “3 Peaks” Challenge + Liquid Drum & Bass

in #artzone5 years ago

Howdy sir nickyhavey! holy moly! Is this the worlds longest post? jeez I could have climbed Mt Snowdon before someone got through this thing. Good thing I'm a speed reader, only took me 30 minutes that way!
but anyway, ya'll are totally daft!

Sort:  

Hey there Lord Janton! If it isn't the world's longest post, I'd like to know what is haha! Wait you speed read and it still took you 30 minutes? Did you run out of beer half way through or something and go to the shop on your mowercycle?

We're certainly a mad bunch but you weren't expecting anything else over here were you now? 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

haha! I DID totally run out of redneck beer because I was trying to make it through your marathon post! Because I'm not really a speed reader. lol. I try to go by the attention span rule. The studies show that people start turning our, minds start wondering and they start skimming at 800 words.

But I've found on steemit that it's more like 500 words! I wonder how many thousands of words you had?? lol. Did anyone read every word? I hope so because it was a great read.

Haha I'll give you that one Lord Janton, it is a marathon post. I won't be writing anywhere near as much again in future. Funny that in my last 3 blog posts, I've written a 4,200 word and a 5,200 word blog.

Now when I first started on steemit, I was hammering out 1,000-2,000 word blogs but only getting about $0.12 per post. However, I have noticed things change a little bit as it looks like there's been some curation teams looking at the two colossal ones I've written which is inspiring hope that things are changing around here. But don't worry, I won't be writing another 2,000 word post for a while... need to keep it succinct for my travels as I don't want to spend all my time in front of a laptop writing blogs (fun though it is!)

You had me there Lord Janton, I thought you were harnessing your inner Redneck reading skills! I haven't heard about this attention span rule. To be honest, I wasn't expecting anywhere near the response I have got here. Part of the challenge I love is keeping it entertaining so people want to read on and continue the adventure but that 800 word rule is fascinating. Where did you hear about that?

How have you found out about 500 words on steemit too? This blog has 5,200 words in or thereabouts. Maybe they did read every word, maybe not but hopefully whoever wants to do the UK 3 Peaks Challenge will read every word as there's a lot of valuable information in there for them to consider if they want to embark on the mission!

howdy sir nickyhavey! In regards to the length of posts it just depends on what you're going after. .the rewards or the readers. curie and them love the long posts but nobody reads them because they won't take the time unless they are very very dedicated to your subject.

I've learned this through posting everyday and asking everyone questions, focusing on some of the most experienced authors on here...actual, real, published authors who told me what the studies show about human nature and attention spans.

At first I adherred to the 800 to 1,000 word rule and people would still complain about my long posts and I noticed they wouldn't be reading them because they would consistently ask questions that were clearly covered in the post! lol.
so I went with 500 and that seems to be about right, it's still a little long for some people but most will read at least most of it.

Of course I have asked almost everyone on steemit about this subject and most say that no one reads anyone's posts, they just skim! lol. I do know they skim even if it's a 500 word post because of all the stuff they miss or misunderstand.
My guess is that maybe 5% read the whole post, I'm one of them but that's rare.

People either have no patience(human nature) or a lack of time to read and they want fast and succint information. but if you want to go for the rewards and have tons to say then by all means through in some large posts for curie.

Hey Lord Janton! That's a good question as I just write the blogs for my own feeling of closure rather than think about readers or upvotes, that comes 2nd for me. Of course if people enjoy reading them then that's a bonus! I haven't been curied at all since September and don't think I will again because my rep is too high and it has to be "exceptional" so I have no chance haha!

Thanks for sharing your experiences and insights but interested to know who were "complaining" about your post length. Seems odd for a blogging platform that noone wants to read posts haha!

I probably read the majority of the text but I do like the challenge of creating an easy to read, nice looking post even if it is super long like this latest one I did.

Very interesting Lord Janton! So how long have you been on this platform to pick up on all the knowledge?

Howdy sir nickyhavey! first of all, how is your foot or feet?
I joined last Feb 2018 but I am such a recluse, hermit and total introvert and not any kind of writer and never been on any social media site and don't even like them that I didn't make my first post until almost May so I've been on here about 10 months.
Hey if you don't care about readers or votes but are just doing this to get your own thoughts down then that's great and you can throw out everything I just said! lol. That's super cool. I'm just trying to grow my account so I can show something for my efforts to Mrs. J who still has her axe!

I've gotten so many people mention how long my posts were, before I started trimming them down, but I didn't keep track of who they were, but most are regular readers.However, I do have a few that WANT them to be long if I'm doing a series and they tell me they like to read them late at night when everything has calmed down and it's one of their night time rituals, that's how much they enjoy the story telling so that made me feel good.

Sometimes I'm torn between making them short or average but I know human nature so I try to avoid long ones. But your situation is very different and I like your attitude.

Heya Lord Janton! My foot is starting to get better thanks. The swelling and soreness is definitely much reduced today than it was last week. There does seem to be bruising now around the big toe joint which suggests to me a "wrecked tendon" rather than gout (having compared pictures of both and seen how both conditions can arise + symptoms). I should be running around next week hopefully - still on ice and anti-inflammatories though but thanks for asking!

Hey you've done well then in only using the platform for 10 months then and you aren't a recluse surely! What about all the lavish drives up and down the high street on your mowercycle haha!

I have to admit, there have been times I was tempted to try and write to gain more followers and get post payouts and all that but I think it comes over time so I figured I'd just brain dump on my own blog, sync it up to steem and whatever happens, happens!

Maybe I am a bit more fortunate as I don't have an axe being wielded in the vicinity of my jugular haha! I am sure you will be OK though, your account balance is decent for only 10 months with some investment.

For you, I'd listen to your readers as you seem to have developed a good following and so you can cater to them. Maybe you can have a second account which gives you a bit more freedom - Lavish Janton lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again sir nickyhavey! so glad to hear about the foot but I assume you were speaking metaphorically when you said you would be running on it next week? I mean tendons take a notoriously long time to heal.

I am a recluse, the only social interaction I have is on steemic. Mrs. J calls me a hermit although that's not really accurate because she lives with me. lol.

When you get to NZ and Australia your readership will go up when you use the travel tag. I can't wait myself, it's going to be grand!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40