How I paint comics : The Techno-Templar #30

in #artzone6 years ago

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30.jpg

The detailled making of my watercolor sci-fi and surreal graphic-novel.

In the previous page, the combat between Devlok and the Techno-Templars inside the network has begun. That is when another Templar called Lenz, who stayed IRL with the "chief" and who has been doubtful about the operation for a while, decides to probe our protagonist's memory. Remember, he has been digitalized, ...

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_.jpg

"Devlok, the Techno-Templar is a post-dystopian Graphic-Novel I started to auto-produce in the beginning of 2016 with a first book. The second came out in October 2017, closing the story. Several repress took place, coming to a total of 1250 copies in total, French and English issues confounded"

Let's see how the page was created. First, story-board, with thought bubbles, text and outlines.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_st.jpg

Seems I don't have any pictures of the penciling, so here's straight the painting process.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_1.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_2.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_3.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_4.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_5.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_6.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_7.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_8.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_9.jpg

So after that I painted the background with light textures and a gradient.

I do really love to make those lines by hand! And those pens are perfect for it.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_10.jpg

Et voilà!
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_30_Process_11.jpg
After that, a bit of cleaning and minor color enhancement, tought bubbles, text. I also added an extra black outline to the little panels.



I hope you enjoyed this post! If you want to read the previous pages, simply follow and scroll down my profile for "The Techno-Templar" posts.

Here are also video flick through of the books

If you are interested in the physical book(s), head there: http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

Committing to comics is hardcore job, consider supporting me and my family through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

Or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks again! Don't forget to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Great page! I made one that had a bit of the same idea:

Excellent! I love so much that epic mega-serious sculpturesque face down right!

Thanks :) I just ordered the two Devlok albums!

How awesome ;) Thanks! It'll go in the next days, monday or so ;)

Very good to see your workflow! The graphics are as usual, extremely interesting and excellent art!

Thanks a lot for the comment @fractalizer :)

Do you do your initial inking with India ink? Are you using a special ball-point pen? I didn't think that ink from most ball-point pens was waterproof.

I don't have much experience with water color painting. Do you paint a layer, let it dry, and then paint another layer to make a gradient?

Thank you for the comment and the questions @minnowforlife!

I use thinliners like those for clean outlines

And ballpoint pen like this for lines that need more variations, ink is more oily.

Both have waterproof ink but to be honnest I don't know what type of ink it is exactly.

You can find a bunch of watercolour tutorials on internet. For gradients for instance, you might do it with a first layer that you let dry then adding a succession of others. But that'll be more of a "fake" gradient, that'll still look nice, all depends the effect you look for. But the "real" technique for that is to lay the colour on one side, then another colour or clean water on the other side (without having them touching each other) and then blend them. You have to be pretty fast for that technique, you might even need one brush (one with each color) in each hand to do it before it's dry.

Thanks for the reply! It helps a lot. Talking with other creators is one thing that makes Steemit enjoyable.

Wow, your work is extremely detailed! I took an art for a couple of years, commercial art, when I was in high school. I've been away from it for a long time but I sure admire people like you who keep at it and Bravo on the books!

Thank you for the comment @wandrnrose7, I had a switch in my head, I just had to do it .)

Oh, I understand that switch! Well done, my friend!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by haedre from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Excellent article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78