You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Havey’s Guide To Completing The UK “3 Peaks” Challenge + Liquid Drum & Bass

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

So after saying, you don't want to be 'that guy', you end up being 'that guy' LOL. You had me laughing.

Being up there, on top of those mountains, must have given you quite a feeling. Of conquer and god like to have achieved such greatness.
And the view is just breathtaking! Even the fog! (Cause, you know me, I dig eerie and all that fun stuff)

When you were on the mountain, Ben Nevis, what was it like?
Scotland always seemed like a magical place to me and the pictures you took definitely makes it look that way. Such a beautiful place.

I applaud you for doing this challenge and by my understandings, more than once? Or did you hike up the mountains at different times, not being a challenge?
But anyway, you had quite an adventure! Doing all that in just under 24hrs! Whew! How did you feel after that? Were you able to walk the next day? I bet you were even running :p

Love, love, love your colossal post. It's not just a post you wrote here. I dont have the words for explaining what I mean, but it is definitely a serious, heart felt memory you shared with us. Good for you for doing something so amazing! <3

Adding something to my comment; I was scrolling down the comments and saw the picture Tygertyger put in the comments and reminded me of that picture. You look so cold! And not just cold but maybe even a bit pissed? "Ima make it up this mountain dammit!" :P LOL Here is me throwing you a blanket!

Sort:  

Haha yea do as I say not as I do 😂

If you're into eerie you'd have loved hiking up scafell when I did. Wow, we were close to getting lost up there because we couldn't see 5 metres in front of us it was that foggy. You could hear the odd voice and sheep bleating but it was deathly quiet otherwise.

Ben Nevis is a pretty magical mountain for sure. Even as you get to the top, there is a lot of green to be seen on neighbouring peaks. I'd do it again at a more leisurely pace for sure!

I tried the challenge twice. First time in 2013 I failed as I did something pretty bad to my ankle. It wasn't a blister but a huge chunk of skin came off as I fell over coming down the mountain. The rest of the team stormed off and I couldn't keep up, slipped and fell so I couldn't continue. So I was even more determined the 2nd time round to do it with a different team, making sure everyone knew the situation and sticking with the slowest walker rather than storm off. The 2nd attempt was in July 2014.

I also walked up the mountains separately for training and a bit of leisure at various times before and after the challenge - very enjoyable when you're not against the clock!

Haha I definitely wasn't good for anything the next few days after the challenge! I was sick of eating sandwiches and cold pasta, wanted a shower and a cooked meal so basically ate and chilled!

Haha thanks for reading it meuf! I wanted to make a guide for someone who would be interested in doing it themselves and I was just trying to remember everything I did and then why the track I made came into existence too. So it ended up being about 5,200 words which is bigger than my undergraduate thesis lol!

TygerTyger's modification is hilarious! It was a bit cold at that point as we had to stop. One of our team mates got a blister (that guy haha) so it was getting cold quickly. But I was too determined too not make it. Didn't organise all this to fail dammit haha!

Thanks for the epic feedback meuf ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Just looking at the foggy pictures and you saying that you hear voices and sheep here and there without seeing them... EPIC! Best chance to make a short horror film.. scene thing LOL

Im glad you had a better team to go the 2nd time. I can see how frustrating that is when people dont stay together. Brilliant to keep the pace with the slowest walker, no one is left out that way.

Leisurely would be my way of doing it. I like to connect with the things around me and I would probably stay connected in Scotland! LOL If I ever go though I would end up living there :P

How could you ever get sick of eating cold pasta?! :D Pasta is pasta, its yummy LOL.

I think this is a wonderful guide and definitely one to take seriously. You have many great points here that are so important to take seriously so people do not get injured. Especially when it comes to doing it as a challenge. That is one heck of a challenge!

Ah that guy didn't put blister things on him. Was he one of those that skipped out on the training? :p
I hope you warmed up quickly after that!

So your logo image of the mountains, those are the 3 peaks, if I understood that right? I wanted to ask last night but it was another thing I forgot. It was late :/

I also kept this post open in my tabs because I wanted to listen to the track. And I forgot. Something is wrong with my brain that is making me forget so much! On it now though.

Haha absolutely one of the best places to get that horror film scene going. You'd love it :D

That's exactly it. After my first experience and knowing how it felt, I wasn't going to let the same thing happen when I was organising it. There is absolutely no point in running off and leaving your friends and team mates behind. Not only because the fact that you're only as fast as your slowest walker but it can potentially be damaging for team morale.

Make it a dream to go to Scotland, you're going to love it :)

Believe me, when it's all you eat because you have to, it does get a bit on the "bleugh" side haha!

It certainly is one heck of a challenge, definitely one of the biggest ones I've had to organise and getting money from everyone to pay for things, getting everyone fit and coming along, getting them to take it seriously and not just a "walk in the park". Funnily enough, the guy who got blisters did come on the training walks, found out where his hot spots were and didn't put a blister plaster on!! I couldn't believe it! He only made it 2/3 of the way up Ben Nevis.

My logo image is of mountains but not specifically the 3 peaks, I just love mountains. The challenge of getting to the top and then looking back at what you've overcome. For me, life is a series of mountains representing challenges to overcome. You feel on top of the world when you achieve and I love that feeling.

Ah it's a shame steemit doesn't allow embed players of anything other than Soundcloud or YouTube. They need to accept Choon and Spotify for sure so I don't need to put "alternative" links in but alas, it's a work in progress one hopes!

The fact that you put so much effort into organizing everything from start to finish, A-Z.... You should be paid to do that :D

Scotland is definitely a dream, one day when the kids don't need me anymore, it will come true ^_^

Haha well this post has been doing well at the moment but if some one wants to pay me to do an A-Z of anything travel I'd happily do it! Maybe I will revisit my Bluffer's Guide to Cryptocurrency and expand on the A-Z of Steem seeing as this is quite a vast platform!

I know it will come true for you!

Posted using Partiko Android

I can definitely hear it in your track and what an awesome track!!!!!! <3

Ah man thank you so much meuf 😊

Going to be playing this one out very soon on the MSP Waves show so you can hear my soothing voice talk about it even more 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32