Making a Castle in 3D [Design][Art]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #artzone6 years ago

Stardust Castle v2 Levels_Angle.png

Did you enjoy my drawings of Stardust Castle? Here are some more images of the fantasy inspired castle on the clouds.

Today I decided to teach myself how to use SketchUp. It is a free 3D editing tool that can be used fully within the web browser.

20181214_202443 (2).jpg

Stardust Castle v2 Levels_Front.png

Next step will be adding the cone shaped rooftops, and some of the arch shapes under the buildings. Also the dome for the large Lunarium needs to be formed.

The crenelations are going to take a very long time I expect, as I'm still not great with repeated actions on grouped items.

20181216_231628.jpg

The overhead view I had to sketch out on paper, as this helped me determine the distances between each building, and the walkways. In 3D, it's best to start with these basic shapes on a flat 2D floor. Then you can push and pull the building up the heights needed in sketchup.

This strategy went much faster than the medieval style of rolling stones up hills!

Stardust Castle v2 Levels_Top.png

Let me know if you have any tips or tricks using SketchUp. I am still very new.

Early lessons I learned:

  • Set rectangles to defined whole number measurements. Edges are much easier to line up flush.
  • Use metric, since every unit is base-10 and base-100. Interpreting intervals of feet, inches, and yards is not worth it.
  • Grouping every rectangle and box is also a must, to free up shapes from adjacent shapes.

I can offer some advice for others also getting started. Need any help? Just let me know.

#3d #3d-art #tower #fantasy #sketch #pencil #computer-art #design #graphic-design

Sort:  

Cool project. Top view looks perfect. I have never used sketchup so no advice from me :(


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80