Self portrait- 4th Art Trail Contest

in #arttrailcontest47 years ago (edited)


This is my painting post for the 4th Art Trail Contest. I made a drawing post earlier
here:[ https://steemit.com/arttrailcontest4/@gavicrane/self-portrait-4th-art-trail-contest]
but also wanted to share this self portrait I did a while ago and tell you guys about it.
In classic japanese illustration there's a concept of hierarchy that can usually be discovered by the size relationship of the subjects in the piece.
This is a self portrait where I'm smaller than another subject and not even in the center of the piece.

I did this for a specific reason having to do with my infatuation for my significant other at the time.
It's 12x10 inches and is acrylic on watercolor paper. I did it awhile back before my drawing self portrait so I wasn't as good of an artist and you can tell my face is a little sloppy, but that's alright since my face wasn't the only focus.
This self portrait was to demonstrate how I was so infatuated with this person that they took up more of my mind and life then I did, and I got lost in that infatuation and lost my identity and had to work for a few years to rediscover it

Sort:  

Great technique and style, following!

Very detailed! This is beautiful as well!

Sooooo beautiful! I love your work so much !

wow thank you :]

You're most welcome:)

Incredible painting. Love your style of artwork. Will resteemed and follow you 🌷

That is stunning, you know how much I like your work! This is a side to your style I haven't seen before, very nice.

thanks I'm glad you like it,My style was very different before I started learning to draw from the imagination

very impressed

Gentle and mystical.. stunning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25