Crypto Collectibles presents Conrad Veidt in Portrait Pop Art for 11th ARTstyleART

in #artstyleart117 years ago (edited)


Actor Conrad Veidt was an actor mainly active in the 1920s to 1930s era.   He will probably be forever known as the man who inspired comic book creators to make The Joker with Conrad's portrayal of the character Gwynplaine from the 1928 film "The Man Who Laughs" as you can see below.


This was made digitally using a Deep Dream Generator and Photoshop created just for @aksinya's 11th Art Style Art Contest.   Below is an alternative take that I enjoy aspects of both variations however for more of a truer and brighter pop art feel, the above one fits that better.




ALSO ON STEEMIT

 OpenBazaar 2.0 Beta is Open

 Crypto Collectibles presents Serial Experiments Lain for Anime Drawing Challenge

 Crypto Collectibles presents Batman and Bat-Mite in "FORK THIS!" for B&W Photo Contest theme Food 

Sort:  

cool indeed!

very cool!

Reestemed Amazing My friend!!!

Pretty rad!!! It looks amazing. And thank you @cryplectibles, you give me two thinks to learn, about Conrad Veidt and that Deep Dream Generator. I hope to see more of your works soon.

Those turned out great! Did you have to run a lot of different comic source image inputs to get an effect you liked?

When I first started using the deep dream generators online (which I have to credit to @kidsysco and his post from months ago here), it was definitely a process of trial and error. That is until your eye catches how things go, then I cannot describe it, but you kind of just get better at being able to have the material you would want to get the result you are desiring.

To give an analogy to just like drawing by hand, how there is erasure marks all over until you have the lines right where you want them but in the end you only see the final piece, well there are tons of scrap "tried" variations on images in a folder that will be tossed. As you get better at drawing you have less erase marks because you just get your lines where you want them the first time.

The current generator I'm using has settings for enhancement, resolution, depth, style weight, style scale, preservation of colors, so there is more ability to tweak within the app. So to answer specifically just for The Joker pieces, before I generated I had seen what pictures of Conrad would work as well in another tab going for Joker pieces I would want to use, which I wanted to go with iconic for the nerds to possibly notice (see this tweet and this tweet to see the source images). I want to start getting into hand drawing the style art of pieces to see how those start looking.

Makes total sense that you'd develop an eye for what the materials are going to do even though you don't have full control. Seems like working with watercolors in a way...

Excellent analogy with the watercolors, better than just the hand drawing which is the ultimate control, and I guess digital drawing is the next step of that because having "erasure marks" being a layer in photoshop you can click on or off at anytime (which is like cheating to some physical artists lol). Bonus unused deep art attempt that I just couldn't get what I wanted in my head, but here is one of the results anyway which may be interesting to some

Malcolm X with Magneto used as the style. I do not believe anything had been confirmed by any creators, but I haven't looked this one up in a while, but basically Professor X is like Martin Luther King and Magneto was like Malcolm X, both wanted the same goal but their views on how to get there were different. I didn't try and do this one too much though because I just liked The Joker's ones in the end so scrapped this idea all together.

cryplectibles Crypto Collectibles tweeted @ 10 Sep 2017 - 18:09 UTC

Conrad Veidt with Joker in @DeepDreamGen

#ConradVeidt #TheJoker #Batman #Steemit #Art #DeepArt #DeepStyletwitter.com/i/web/status/9…

cryplectibles Crypto Collectibles tweeted @ 10 Sep 2017 - 18:08 UTC

Conrad Veidt with Joker in @DeepDreamGen

#ConradVeidt #TheJoker #Batman #Steemit #Art #DeepArt #DeepStyletwitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Very cool, I never heard of Conrad Veidt before and I really dig the deep dream stuff!

Creepy + creepy = super creepy!

Wow that's really cool.

woww
great thinking...

These are awesome :)

A good job will be priceless if you follow me and vote for my post https://steemit.com/life/@dimidrolshina/3viip8-life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63