Entry for Artstorm Contest #11 - coffee and cakes

in #artstorm7 years ago (edited)

d53137d7-20d2-4a60-8db0-a419ae73c639.png

Digital Art entry

Coffee And Cakes

Title of this art: Cake And Coffee A Love Story

If you are interested to join feel free to check the contest mechanics here

"Cake and Coffee a love story" This is the message of my little illustration for today's contest. Being a coffee drinker myself I always pair it with something sweet and or creamy like a cake. I like that kind of balance, bitter and sweet. I love black coffee and the cake will perfectly compliment it. How about you Steemies? How do you like your coffee?

Care for coffee?
Do you know of a love story that started over a cup of coffee?
Coffee and Cake a perfect pair indeed.
Leave your comment below.

I got inspired by a cake I saw online. It has a couple of cool and interesting colors. I love seeing the marks made by the spatula or whatever it was in shaping the cake and giving it a nice texture. To me the different colors are like paints carefully rendered on a white canvas using a paint knife ( not sure about the right term). I think the white color of the icing looks good against a dark background. I think I made a delectable looking cake. I also like the blue plate for the cake, the golden yellow cup gives a nice balance. I ran out of time to finish the saucer for the coffee cup and the outline I made will just be fine. The texts that I wrote in there gave this drawing some whimsical touch to it and made it more personal. It now looks like a greeting card doesn't it? There is one issue I had with the drawing. I could not clearly show the vapor coming out of that hot cup of coffee because the color of the vapor is the same as that of the icing. I did not use a different color just to emphasize the vapor because I know it will just ruin the final product. For now I am good with it.

Again thank you to Dee Marshall for hosting this kind of contest

Cheers.
@dinglehopper

Sort:  

Cake and Coffee a love story" This is the message of my little illustration today. Being a coffee drinker myself I always pair it with something sweet and or creamy like a cake. I love black coffee and the cake will perfectly compliment it. How about you Steemies? How do you like your coffee?

Your cake looks very tempting! I drink black decaff first thing in the morning. After that, it's milk or water :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79