Artstorm Contests - Your Opinions Please!!!

in #artstorm7 years ago

Seeking Opinions on Artstorm Contest.jpg

Recently there have been more entries to Artstorm Contest created with digital art than other methods.

Digital art can be very eye-catching. Apps like PicsArt and programs like Krita have spectacular effects that can be produced quickly.

To make sure everyone's skill is valued, I shall be choosing two winners each day next week for Artstorm Contest #7.

One daily winner will be from the digital art entries and the other will be from the non-digital art entries. You can still enter once as you do now.

I need your opinions on the following question:

Option 1

Both daily winners, digital and non-digital, receive a prize of 1 SBD. The weekly overall prize is dropped.

Option 2

Both daily winners, digital and non-digital, receive a prize of 0.50 SBD. There is still a weekly overall winner who gets a prize of 5 SBD.

I am only rep. 55 myself so I can't afford to pay out more than 10 SBD a week on prizes as that's my usual income from writing 3 - 5 posts a day.

Some of you have told me that you don't care about winning and prizes because you enjoy challenging yourselves and having fun with your art. Artstorm fits well with busy lives and provides a platform to display your art.

Please leave your opinion in the comments below.

I will trial both options over the next weeks if less than 10 regular Artstorm Contest entrants leave me an opinion.

Thank you for reading this post!

Sort:  

Both options are good, but I like the second one more. I agree with @pv-p and @wildermanjnm because with option 2, you will encourage the participants to stay in the contest. And as you said, the digital art entries can be easier to make and very eye-catching due to certain special tools in the programs so, this would leave aside the non-digital artists. I think it's a good initiative that you want to take into account both art styles, but whatever you choose don't force yourself.

Keep up the good work! :D

Thank you for your comments. It's important to value both types of art and it's hard to do that with one only daily winner. I receive many more digital entries than non-digital so I need to do two prizes to make sure both are valued. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Excellent digital art takes skills. I have a friend who has amazing skills and he has spent days working on one one his masterpieces.

Entrants to Artstorm only have 15 minutes to create their artwork so excellence isn't a factor. I want to value everyone's skills. That is why I am asking for opinions on options 1 and 2.

Great observation and questioning! And I think it's brilliant that you have decided to do a separate prize for each as they require different skills.

To share my thoughts on the matter, option 1 seems to encourage more sporadic entry in your contest but still get some substantial rewards for it (1SBD for 15mins is a pretty good payoff!). Option 2 encourages week-long performance in the contest as possibly winning 5SBD for just over an hour's work is worthwhile (which equates to 1SBD per drawing entered from option 1).

That said, I don't have a personal opinion on which I'd prefer :p

Thank you so much for your opinion! You are right. I tried to maintain an incentive to enter the contest. We will see what others think I hope. Thank you again for your input!!

Base on your capability of giving winners prize @deemarshall , i'll choose option 2 to give chance to two entries of winning per contest and don't spend more than you but its up to you😊

Thank you! That is a very kind attitude. It's true that Option 2 is cheaper for me. I thought to include some random prizes if option 2 is the most popular. When @strypes was so supportive in the early days, I gave her a random prize. It is fun to do that.

Hello option 1 is ideal to maintain the enthusiasm all week to create and publish a drawing, in addition to knowing which is the final winner.

Thank you for your input! With option 1 there will be no final winner. I will not choose a final winner and there will be no prize for a final winner. The daily prize will be 1SBD as it is now.

I really prefer option 2.
Think about it, we only spend 15 minutes doing the sketch for the contest. If those 15 minutes are rewarded with 1SBD for both digital and no-digital sketches every day, there would be more people doing it sporadically. With an weekly prize, there's more motivation to enter the contest regularly.

Thank you for your input. What you say is true. I am hoping to hear the opinions of more entrants. Your opinion is very helpful :)

I enjoy doing both digital and non-digital art, so I think it's a really good idea to have both of them recognized in the contest. I do like the second option, though personally I'm just here because I like to make small quick drawings, but it seems to me as a fair option :D

Thank you for responding. Second option seems popular so far. I think people who want big prizes don't bother with Artstorm anyway so I won't lose many entrants whichever option comes out top.

Brilliant thinking as always Dee! I would suggest Option 2. I think that would put the digital and non-digital artists on equal footing, in that they split the 1 SBD prize of the day. That would signify that traditional is just as good as digital even though the latter is, as you said, more eye catching, etc. :)

You are already more than generous with your prizes, so this will also be lighter on your budget.

It's true that many people, myself included, enjoy the challenge and are appreciative enough that our art gets more visibility through artstorm.

Again, thanks so much for this initiative and more power to you!

Thank you for your comment. $0.50 is still an OK prize for 15 minutes fun. So far most responders have gone for that option.

For me @deemarshall option 2 fits everyones entry, so that you will encourage more steemians to enter to your contest. This challenge give us an idea on what to post daily. Keep it up! @deemarshall. Your a big help to everyone. Goodluck to us😇. All the decision in your contest is all up to you maam @deemarshall.

Thank you for your message. That is good to know. I hadn't thought of that. I used to do the freewrite challenge by @mariannewest for the reason that it helped me make a post so I understand what you mean. Most people have gone for option 2 so far.

Now I know what you are up to and why we haven't seen you writing :) Great initiative!!! Someday, we should do a combined prompt :)

Good idea :) This contest is hectic right now so I can't do freewrite but I still read some of the freewriter's posts. Nice to speak to you again :)

glad that the contest is going well for you!!

I think art is expressed in every medium, when you use digital you are still drawing, like vector programs, which takes some skill, digital photography is another thing. Drawing on paper or canvas has the realism, art material has also become very expensive, therefore digital can be done and you can choose your final art. Both are great ways to express the way you feel, there is still skill in both. Thanks for the Contest, it brings out a lot of variety and talent, well done. Keep it up.

Thank you for your input. All kinds of art will still be welcome except photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35