Art School - Week 3 - Value Grouping & Still Lifes! - Get Rewarded for doing homework!

in #artschool7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

Welcome to another week of Art School! – Week 3 - !! We made it..

This week we are going to follow through on the previous week by staying on the subject of negative space but now we are going to add in ‘value grouping’.. It is sort of what we did last week with the simplification of portraits.

No we are stepping up our game! It becomes a tad bit more difficult!.. I hope you are ready!

I also hope.. That you (if you participated in the previous weeks) pick up exercises from those weeks and redo them this week..
So you can see if something changes.. if the speed or accuracy increased or that you are now able to just make it look a tad bit better than last week/s!

Please do know that you can join the art school on every week! There is no entry point.. If you feel like jumping in with everyone else.. Please feel free!

I do have to note that if you join in.. please do the homework.. all of it or at least most.
It is very hard for me to give any meaningful feedback when you just do 1 thing. ☹

Alright!
Let’s get to it!


Last week we sort of reverse engineered a portrait.
We went from a photo back into simplicity!.. Simple shapes of value!
lesson1-assignment1c.jpg
This week we do the same but instead of lines we are going to use values.
Which will hopefully make things a bit less abstract for some of you! :)

As an example:

I want you to take a photo (can be black and white.. perhaps easier)
And create a the shapes in their own value that make the face.
The portrait on the left is actually pretty much the same as the portrait on the right.. It is a better of refining but it 90% there.

Another example of how the homework can look:

So what I did here is to take the simplified portrait, take those shapes and group the together in the right value range.. now you see i have almost created the same image as the photo.. but just by the value shapes.. No need for details on how to draw an eye or a pair of lips.. You can get really close to realism without ever even knowing or trying to understand how you draw an eye..

That really only matters when you want to draw it from mind.. Then understanding is key.. But for now we are not going there yet!!

As a next exercise we are going to do the same but with a still life object..
I am going to show you the steps on how to approach this.
(as im currently packing and moving soon I didn’t really have a nice way to set something up so I took a photo.. I encourage you strongly to just put something down in front of you and draw it!)

I took this photo from the internets!

I first start off by creating a negative space drawing of the thing.. I draw the outline of the pot and table it is on resulting in something like this:

Step 2 is for me is to fill the shape with a base value! .. The base value is the overall value from the object RELATIVE to its surrounding..
The overall scene/photo here is fairly dark.. there are only a few highlights and even those are not 100% white.. So the base value was around 80% black..

Step 3 for me is to find the dark shapes in the overall image. I paint those in the pot, the table and the background.. All at the same time.

TIP - When working on an image try to work on the whole image at the same time.. don't lose yourself focussing on just 1 bit.. it will make 10 times as hard to eventually bring it all together in 1 cohesive image!!

Step 4 is to paint in the lighter values.. As you can see MOST of the base value is still there.. The lighter values I am painting in right now are NOT the highlights! We leave them for last! .. Just as the dark shapes, I now try to spot the light shapes and paint those into the picture.

At this point I turn of my linework layer or have drawn over it so it almost disappeared!

Step 5 is for the highlights!

The image you see is not fully rendered and cleaned up.. This took about 10 minutes for me to paint.
But this is the perfect base painting for me to start rendering and cleaning up so it becomes a full beautiful piece!

I hope this helps! (if you have any questions please feel free to leave them below or contact me on discord @beekart )


This weeks HOMEWORK!!!

-- Paint AT LEAST !! 1 Value grouping portrait!! FOR every 2 EXTRA - I will send you 1 SBD

-- Paint a still life in the way described above! (please do save out your steps so i can see the progress!)
For every extra still life i will send you 1 SBD!!


GAME ON!!!!

Do you best! <3

Cheers
Rogier

Sort:  

Here is my entry

78a36de4bbdb2d2fd8e064a7d3ef6383.jpg

Teapot2.png

Teapot.gif

103b8344985983536d5c20a57ce301c0.jpg

final.png
Rose.gif

I'm going to be travelling very very soon after this post is posted, so here's the time i mustered to put this out because i really wanted to participate but wont be able to do so if i dont right now!

Have a nice day rogier and class!

An hour to spare and my Homework \ :D / is finally done.
colrose.png

Awesome bro! I will check it out asap! just sooo much work at the mometn.. i got to start saying no to things hahah

Hello Artists! This technique I liked a lot and in my spare time I took advantage of doing this work with a Photograph of Adele. I hope you like it. I would like to know your comments to keep improving, I have seen very good jobs here and I am very glad to see the talent that everyone has to give.

adeleeeeeee_copy.jpg

Hey Mate thank you for participating! I will check out your homework asap and try to give some feedback! Thank you again for participating! :)

What I was able to do this week. Thanks @beekart. Looking at them now I can already see what needs improved lol
https://steemit.com/art/@renascence/art-school-week-3-value-grouping-and-still-lifes

My homework !! :)

https://steemit.com/artschool/@omarydler/my-homework-for-beekarts-steemit-art-school-week-3-value-grouping-and-still-lifes

Exercise #1
Screenshot_6.jpg

Exercise #2
final.jpg
delfifinal1.png

I did an extra job to share it with all of you, dedicated to John Lennon. I hope you like it. I would be grateful to receive your criticism to improve and continue learning in the art school with @beekart

lenno steemit low.jpg

Amazing dude! I'll get to a proper feedback tomorrow!

Hi!

Here is my homework of the week.

Hope it isn't too late...

Greetings.

Nope! Right on time ;)

Here my homework :)

Thank you @beekart for this interesting lesson!

🖼️ ART SCHOOL : BecomeTheArtist's Homework Week 3 - VALUES [EN]

Based on Photo :

Based on still live object:


These are fantastic!! :) I will get to a more detailed feedback asap! running short on time today! :(

Thank you for the time you dedicate to this project.

better late then never.
artschoolstudy-compare.jpg

study-miner.gif

cool stuff mate ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37