Fictional story: Diversions

in #arts2 years ago

InShot_20220221_000335197.jpg

It was windy that night. The tress clapped their branches to the rhythm of the wind while the birds gave choruses to this melodious night. Even the full moon graced this very momentous night as it shone so vigorously . I had stepped out of my room this night feeling really gloomy but things took a good turn and I feel very much better now. Adanma's call felt like fine ointment on my wounds. It turns out mama has been really sick for a while now and all efforts to make her better seemed fruitless. We have been doing everything possible to revive her but all our efforts felt as though we were pouring water on stone but now, our prayers has been answered and the peace of mind this news brings to me cannot be described.

Mum wasn't this way before though, but due to challenges we face in life, things turned out this way. My mum has always been a hard-working woman, a woman of substance, her husband wife and dearest mother to her kids. She had this very special bond with us that there isn't anyone amongst us that is not close to her. More reason why when calamity struck our family and the cold hands of death took one of us, she was shocked so greatly.

In her words she would say, "I do not have much children that I would come and choose which is my favorite and which is not, everyone has and enjoys same privileges as his sibling because you all came from one womb"
So she trained us with this in our hearts so her love and care for us wasn't disputable. When our sister died in her hands she couldn't even bear her loss for the first few weeks. Soon, she became ill too. As So many alternatives to make her regain her health proved abortive, we had no choice but to leave it all to God. He was the last alternative we had and thankfully he didn't fail.

Looking back at all this made me very grateful for the way God has been so merciful to my family even when all hopes were lost.

Her critical condition has robbed me of my peace of mind, I couldn't concentrate on my studies in school even though she has encouraged me not to be down and weary that things would get better. I didn't want to be in school this period but due to our forth coming exams, m had pressured me to go back to school and attend lectures in order to do well in my exams. I was attending those lectures with just my body being present with my mind wandering off in deep thoughts. In as much as I want to pass my exams, I was really worried about my mother. Every call from home seemed to triple my heart beat in fear of recieving bad news. This very call I received now, just took away all my anxieties. I can now focus and read for my exams.

Few minutes later, it became a bit chilly outside so I decided to go inside the room. I met my roommate reading her books with such seriousness that I was surprised
"Ugo, this one you are reading like your life depends on it, hope all is well?" I asked out if curiosity
"Haa, my dear, our chem 101 exam scheduled for next week has been adjusted and is set to hold tommorow" ugo replied me, barely looking at direction.
Goosebumps swept over my body almost immediately, I wasn't prepared yet and definitely not chemistry. My high spirits grew cold

.…... To be continued

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47