The Art of Music: Winds of Creation

in #artofmusic6 years ago

Sometimes a song is born into fruition in a fluid moment of ease and rhythm. Other times, it grows slowly, unsure how it wants to be formed.

Perhaps it’s fitting that a song inspired by the writing prompt Wind is one that perplexes me. It makes me want to shift it around, play with the possibilities of sound and imagery.

"Hands in My Hair" was inspired (in part) by @killerwhale's #artofmusic theme this week: Wind.

I wrote the first line of this song with that theme in mind, and it grew like a vine from there.

“The wind is like hands in my hair…”



The current version of the lyrics can be found in my recent Celf Challenge post, which includes a prelude to the song, if you will, where the dream invites the dreamer to remember the stars, as well as a quote that speaks to my soul every time.


Accepting the process.


Yes, I already released this video in that post, but I originally wrote the song for this contest, then got it on video and wasn’t happy with it. So I wrote it into the #celfchallenge post, playing with the lyrics and the dream to find the direction I want to go.

I decided I would just submit a cover for the Art of Music instead.

But so many people said they liked this song, even in it’s infancy, that I figured I should at least post it to the contest that inspired it… even if I’ve waited so long it’s probably late. I've been slipping on Steem, but have been a really good mom, so... better late than never.

For those of you who have already given me such kind comments on this song, thank you! 💖💖💖

I think this music will evolve, and I’m interested to see the different directions it takes. It is a waltz, after all. I wonder where it will dance, and what players will step up to contribute to the creation.

Something I’ve learned as an artist, but especially in writing and songwriting, is that the creation is only partially mine. My muses surprise me, often.

line

Cloud Blood by Ani DiFranco.


Figure I should do two entries in one. A song for the South Wind and one for the North?

Here is the cover I was going to submit. I love playing this song! Ani DiFranco is one of my favourite artists. This song has wind in it in this line:

“Stop at the top of the ridge just to feel the wind / in my Rand McNally.”

I can totally imagine being on a solo road trip like Ani, pulled over with the window open, looking at my map to make sure I’m on the right track.

line

I hope you enjoyed that. :)

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @steemgigs, @noblewitness, @enginewitty, @jatinhota, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @curie, @patrice, @pfunk — there are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

This is just ..............I have no words..........your voice and everything........you make me breathe while listening to it........

Don't stop!!

You are the best, Snook. Thank you!!! I’m so glad I can sing to you in this way, and that you like it so much. Big, sweet hugs and lots of love! 💖🤗💖

Well done my friend....🎤🎤🎤🎸🎸🎸

Thank you so much! 💖

You deserve all the love and praise you can get for the wonderful work you do. Your voice is always so sweet to hear and with this one, it feels like a gentle breeze. Being a really good mom is more important than steemit, we did not go anywhere, did we? Much love to you, your kids and your lovely creative process 💚

You don’t even know.... your comments make me so happy. Thank you a thousand times for your kindness and presence. 💖🤗💖🤗💖

Woohooo! Beautiful rendition of a beautiful song. And, that you play guitar too! Great great job @katrina-ariel! Awesome ❤❤❤

Thanks so much, Jill! Always appreciate your kind comments! 💖💖💖

That hat tip though. :)

Lovely songs Kat. Your voice and pace reminds me of Joni Mitchell in the last song. I think your music keeps you grounded and it’s where you find your individuality away from being a wife and mother to twins.

That is a lovely song, just as it is. Thank you for sharing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97