Art of Music Round #2 — Holding out for Hero (cover)

in #artofmusic6 years ago (edited)

Oh, this song. sigh

The Footloose Soundtrack was a big part of my childhood, and I can't even tell you how many times I sang Bonnie Tyler's cut of this song. When the 2011 remake came out, I fell in love with the version from Ella Mae Bowen.

For my Art of Music entry this week, I sorta combined the two, keeping Bonnie Tyler's chord progression, but mellowing it out and dropping the vocal key to a more comfortable place for my voice. I also capoed up my 12-string, which kinda makes it sound like a mandolin. ;)

Hope you enjoy!



Here's Ella Mae's version:

And Bonnie Tyler's original:

Thanks so much for listening! Please be sure to head over to the Art of Music post and give some love to all the musicians participating! Huge gratitude to @killerwhale for hosting this contest.

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

Like I told you on discord,

I love this song, and I love havin' a copy from the performer in my inbox and I love that the performer is you. Great stuff :smiley: Canada is hiding a shining star.

Thank you so much for your encouragement and appreciation, my friend. You're awesome! Keep making music. :) 💖

Beautiful, unique and captivating. I loved it. (The Simon version of Whatsup votes, Yes!)

Oh, thanks so much! I love that you loved it!!! < How to make a musician love you: tell them you loved their song. 💖💖💖

Absolutely amazing version of this song and I looove your voice 😊 goosebumps...
And the hat is badass 😉 lol
Have a wonderful week. Much love ❤️🤗❤️

lol! That hat looks a lot like one of yours. ;)
Thank you so much for the love, my sister sweet. Comin' back at you! I love that I can sing to you, even from here. Big hugs!!! 💖

Oh my!!!! You are so good! I love it, I L-O-V-E it!!! One of these days, I will do a video post and will ask you if I can play your music in the background!!! While I was in youtube, I always used music from great singers and songwriters as the background to my videos. What is a world without music and songs, right??!

What a lovely comment! Thank you so much. You're welcome to use my music (with credit of course), I'm honoured! Yes, this world is much better because of music. Keep following the song of your heart. :)

This post received upvote from @tipU :) | For vote buyers | For investors.

Good luck on the contest honey, they are lucky to have you participating with your lovely lovely lovely voice. 💚💚💚

this is interesting, since i just featured bonnie in a post couple of weeks ago for my heroes on steemit 😮

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05