Kids and Kings are Not So Different After All

Kids and Kings Final mounted 3.jpg

A few months ago I started playing with a Japanese kind of short poetry - one breath poems called Haiku. I know, this is no Haiku, but liked the idea of mixing different points of view into my work as if complementing each other: one in writing form and the other as a drawing. I believe they call it Haiga when it comes along with an illustration.

I particularly liked the idea that, without the combined view of both art forms - writing and drawing - the piece would not be complete. Much like a jigsaw puzzle, where the full meaning would come to life only when all of the pieces were assembled.

I also found it amusing that the Haiku poets I was reading stretched this notion even further than I anticipated. There was always some kind of surprise, an a-ha moment in the reading experience. As if the 2 points of view seemed almost impossible to conciliate.

Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 7.07.33 PM.png

And that is what I tried to do with this piece. I wanted to show 2 worlds seemingly so disparate that it would be almost impossible to make them meet: the simple world of children, that play and fight over their toys without much concern or consequence and the world of adults, especially people in positions of power - kings, prime-ministers, presidents, powerful businessmen - that in the end, would fight over the same little things that children do. Their ego-driven fights, on the other hand, have dreadful consequences for all of us: families, parents, children, animals and the environment.

And even though this is not a post about animals, I believe it has its place.

After all, the world-stage somehow resembles no more than a schoolyard. At least that's how I see it.

Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 7.08.32 PM.png

In the end, I also wanted to lighten up things a bit, so I added a blue background and some magenta tint to the final piece (so it's not sooo bloody).

Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 7.09.44 PM.png

I hope the piece speaks for itself.

Cheers,

J.P.

Sort:  

This is absolutely stunning!

Congratulations @animalartclub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

That's a great piece and it absolutely speaks for itself. I see it the same way you do and always wonder why the "kings" have the permission to play with the lives of others like that. It is about time that someone takes their war toys away.

Congratulations @animalartclub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Absolutely amazing piece of art, I would love to have this in my own home. Thank you so much for submitting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25