[CR] Midas, the cursed.

in #artisteem5 years ago

Artwork Image

Hey guys! I have just finished my painting of Midas! It took me a while since I made the canvass a little too big (I think I might be overcorrecting for my small paintings in the past). It was really hard working on it since it would freeze from time to time and I'd have to wait for it to respond :<

midas3.jpg


Originally, the background was day time but as it was kind of overpowering the subject, I made it night time and added pretty stars. \o/


Short Background for Midas!


Midas is a character I made a few months ago. I based her powers off of the concept of the curse that makes everything one touch into gold. She acquired her powers when she was three... And at the age of six, she was orphaned. Ten years of torment, she found her purpose when a war broke out. With the ability to turn anything into a weapon, she was invincible. Being as strong as she was, she climbed up ranks in no time.

Here's the post if anyone's interested n_n It has my old drawings of Midas and her overall looks.


Progress Shots!


midas3 wip.jpg
midas3 wip2.jpg
I adjusted the proportions of the face on this one. And as you may notice, I left the greenish part of the clothing untouched since I was gonna use pattern overlay to create the tiny squares.
midas3 no bg.jpg
Painting with a dark background causes one to leave some parts uncovered, so I changed the background to white to cover the parts that I missed.
midas3.jpg
Aaand finished! I used the same brush I used for the hair to make the grassy field. Added some mountains and stars and it's good to go :D

That's about it!

If you wish to have an amazing companion through your drawing journey, feel free to join us @steemartists! It's full of amazing artists, both new and old, who are willing to share their experiences. I learned a lot from them, I hope you will too n_n


We also have a discord channel and we'd be more than glad if you dropped by: https://discord.gg/C9PsHV6


Thank You!


I hope you guys enjoyed this one as well!
Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, please follow @kothy.


All images were drawn and edited by @kothy
All rights reserved


Sort:  

Such a beautiful and powerful character Midas ! And I really appreciate your hard working on this Artwork @kothy.

I am part of The Artisteem Curation Team and submitted this post for our daily curation.

Thank you, @livvu! I'm glad you find it beautiful! And thank you also for the submission n_n

Excellent artwork... but you seem to have posted it twice. What happened?

Thank you! It seems that I've had problems with my internet connection... It wasn't posting the first time I tried so I tried again... then it posted twice D:

So she's like her namesake and everything she touches turns into gold or she has a similar but different kind of power and everything she touches turns into a weapon? That might be a bit inconvenient as far as eating and drinking is concerned XD Great pic, love that flowing hair :D I reckon you could have totally made daytime work but think the decision to make it night instead was a good one so now you got the nice contrasting colours :)

Everything she touches turns into gold (not very original...) which then she uses as weapons! I made her wear special gloves made out of chain mail so she won't accidentally turn everything into gold >u< I think dark shade suited her the best too!

LoL special gloves so she can eat and stuff is not a bad idea XD

Hello @kothy, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you, @creativecrypto!! It's very much appreciated n_n

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97