You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [CO]BEHIND THE CURTAIN

in #artisteem5 years ago

I love this story about the dark. When I was a child, and I was an odd one, I wasn't really afraid of the dark. I scared my mother once when she asked if I had been getting up in the night and I said, "yes, I go downstairs and talk to the lady who is always standing down there". I even have odd scraps of memory of this lady in a long white dress (I know like all ghost stories start out) and my infatuation with her. I guess partly why I love drawing ladies in long dresses now! Funny thing, those early years.

So, in a way you drew your fears to overcome that, that there is art therapy for sure! And what a great result from said therapy, your wonderful detailed drawings!

It's funny when I sketch for my black and white inks I am always removing and erasing the detail, as I am trying to make it just high and low tones, no mid tones, it started out as an exercise I needed to do for when I was a screen printing print making artist and now it's a sort of zen for me!

We are lucky to be artists, aren't we :)

Sort:  

nice story, Donna! Yes, of course, it is catharsis. You "draw the demon on the wall" you are its master. This is what I believe, as opposed to the general believe that it is a summons. Same if you know the secret name of an entity. You then control it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54