[Marvel Quickdraw] Artist Mike del Mundo draws Venom

in #artist6 years ago
Watch as 2018 Marvel Young Gun artist Mike del Mundo describes how he broke into comics as he brings Venom to life in a new episode of Marvel Quickdraw! 

Sort:  

Do you think a Venom movie is imminent? I've been seeing more about Venom lately sort of unusual.

October 5th, not too far away. I'm more surprised that Marvel is doing a push for the Sony character other than Spider-Man in any way. It has felt for a while they were not tying their comics to the movie properties they did not control, so it's good for them to support their character by giving that extra exposure.

Thank you for the insight. I've never really gotten into Venom although a susrprise for myself I have a few books. I think they were free as I'm remembering in the 90s when you mail ordered comics from American Ent they would often send a bundle of free comics (usually including Valiant titles). What I've seen lately about Venom interestingly is other comic artists sending praise to the Venom artist. Also a lot of coat tailing of people hoping for Spawn to have a movie made. Maybe in general the comic book industry is realizing that anti-heroes are profitable! They have with Joker for a while but Joker is kind of special. Also not to go on a tangent but Star Wars also marketing the "dark side" wayyyy more than when I was a kid.

Anti hero is definitely profitable, off the top of my head I can think of The Punisher, upcoming Venom, Deadpool, even the Guardians of the Galaxy are all kind of outlaws, Suicide Squad. I am fearful of all the upcoming Joker projects that has been discussed.

Another Spawn movie is on the way for sure btw, check this post from Todd McFarlane https://www.instagram.com/p/BhTEOR2ggOB/

Interesting point about dark side marketing.

Hello friend, excellent publication, I liked it a lot. Count on me, I invite you to visit my profile and count on you too please, please, Regards

Hello friend, excellent publication, I liked it a lot. Count on me, I invite you to visit my profile and count on you too please, please, Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34