My First Watercolor Painting | Mental Health Benefits of Painting

in #artguildph6 years ago

20180524_125315.jpg

Hello again guys. I'm here to share my new hobby. I find this new hobby of mine to be so relaxing. It relives the stress. I'm a digital artist and painting digitally is so much different than the traditional way. So this is a big challenge for me, but I don't want to be frustrated on my new found hobby cause painting has to be relaxing.

I just want to be clear, I'm not an expert painter. In fact, this is the first painting that I have finished. I'm still learning and I just want to share to you guys every progress that I make. So for my first watercolor painting this is what I made.

Before I started painting, I watched a whole bunch of video tutorial on Youtube. It's the best advice that i can share to you guys. Actually I made this about three days ago but I didn't had the time to write a blog about it cause of my busy schedule.

So, I grabbed every materials that could get a hold to. @aboutart, (my girlfriend) bought some art materials last week, you check out her blog about that on this link. She's the experienced one when it comes to watercolor painting, so I borrowed her watercolors and brushes.


Mental Benefits of Painting

Stress Reliever

Optimistic Attitude

Gaining confidence and self-steem

Improves memory

Being keen observer

Improves creativity



Materials I used

  • Fabriano water color paper
  • Cheap set of watercolors
  • Paint brushes
  • Tissue paper
  • Unipin 0.7 and 0.2
  • Pencil
  • Masking tape

I highly suggest to use a watercolor paper instead of a regular paper if you don't want your painting to bleed to death.

20180524_125608.jpg

20180521_145725.jpg

20180521_145652.jpg


Preparations

And before I start this, I have to prepare everything I needed first.
As you can see on the pictures, I only have some limited colors available on my color palette. So I have to mixed the colors that I have here to create the perfect tone that I needed.
20180521_145728.jpg

And I also, did my gradient test on a piece of paper similar to the paper that I'll be using for the painting. It's also advisable to grab a clean tissue paper to damp off the excess water from your brushes.

20180521_145736.jpg

And now, I'm ready to sketch. So, I grabbed a pen and drew what's on my mind.
20180521_150243.jpg

Painting Process

So first I applied a lightest color first into the skin of my drawing. I planned to color first the lightest then I will apply a darker tone later.

20180521_150829.jpg

I was afraid at first to start painting cause I might ruin the whole drawing. I don't even know if I was doing it right but I just kept on applying colors to it until I'm satisfied.

20180521_151044.jpg

20180521_151220.jpg

20180521_151901.jpg

I applied the same method for the color of her hair which is a tone of light blue.

20180521_152707.jpg

20180521_152909.jpg

Before I proceeded to the next step I taped the sides of the paper using a masking tape. This way you can prevent the watercolors from spreading too much on your paper, plus it adds a great border on your painting.

20180521_153901.jpg

And then for the background I applied the method called "wet on wet". It is a watercolor painting process in which you wet the paper first with a thin layer of clean water and then apply the water color into it. I think this method is perfect when creating clouds.

I just mixed a couple of colors using the "wet on wet method" until I covered the whole background.

20180521_154326.jpg

20180521_155937.jpg

And then I used a unipin 0.7 and 0.2 to draw the outlines of the drawing.

20180521_163113.jpg

And once I'm done, I let it dry first before removing tapes. It is best to let your painting dry first before removing the tape to avoid ruining your whole artwork.

20180521_163118.jpg

And it is done. I'm so proud to see my signature on this painting. haha

20180524_125315.jpg

This is the whole image of the painting.

20180521_1638040.jpg

To tell you the truth, I was really happy with the result of my first try. I'm really glad that I had finished this one cause I have a habit of not finishing what I started.

I scanned the whole painting and upload it into my computer but it flattened the image and it looks dull but I'm gonna share it to you guys anyways.

And that is it. Thank you so much guys for reading this post and for being a part of a first in my life. Hope you like this first watercolor painting of mine. I'm gonna share every progress that I make on this kind of medium cause I want you all to be a part of me.
Thank you so much. Maraming Salamat po!!!!


Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 101 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

amazing work ! I'm happy that watercolor helps you relax, keep it up, you are doing great! Following you for more of your work <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49