Men in the wood

in #artfictionwitness7 years ago (edited)

off-grid-timothy-allen-10.jpg

I woke up and yawned, the clock shows 10;30am, stayed up too late last night, i guess. Seeing that there's still too many chips in the stomach, i decided to skip breakfast. After brushing my teeth, i jumped onto the couch and found myself digging through the news paper my dad had left.
"The sun gossip, political scandal, this is not good enough" i yelled as i yearned for some news that will satisfy my taste.
Jerry my mum's voice came from above" still looking for a suitable news article.
"Yes" i groaned. "Holiday is about to end, mum! If i can't find a news report or featured article for entry into geekgirl's contest, i will gain no rep in steemit.
Jerry! I think your friend is here my mum reported from the kitcen window. I jumped up from the couch and grabbed my yellow sweater as the door bell rang for the third time.
"Coming" i sprinted down the hall way and closed the door behind me" bye mum. Well, that was quick.
The girl with an innocent smile greeted me. Good news or bad news? Bad before good, leave the best to the end. I chanted as we walk down the road. Kicking the rocks, i counted how many days i have left until i post my entry for the contest solomon told me about.
Well, the bad news is, i found the right entry for me. Cury spuned around as her loosed hair waved in the air. It is about the refugee group saving lots of homeless animals.
Well, that's cheerful. "Sarcastically i clapped my hands, i brought out a pack of sweet and handed cury a pieces while licking one myself. "Good news"? I found another interesting entry that i thought will be perfect for you! She looked as pleased as a little puppy. Oh, like she really have some news that will impress me. I rolled my eyes.
This! I know you won't believe it. "She unfolded a piece of paper from her pocket. Read it
My eyes count down the rows of the words. At least i sneered and read them out. witnessing people making an outlet in the local trees for homeless people who dont have light at night. "Yes" cury's white teeth were glowing in her sily smile. "Isn't that something fancy?
No! "I snapped". This is nothing but some fictional kiddie stuff! How on earth can it possibly be real? See you later. I turned and headed back home. Leaving cury standing there alone doesn't feel like a good deed, but she's the one who gave me that stupid fake entry about some lame outlet. Where did she even vet that? Is this her way to prank her friend?
The kets jingled as i opened the door and slammed it behind me making my way up to my room, i felt too tired and too stressed to respond to my mum's call.
When i woke up it about sunset already. My stomach grumbled as struggled to left myself up, i went down stairs, and i saw my mum watching a show on the tv. "I'm going out and be back soon" i reported and went to the door. The street is empty and silent. I worked, for i don't know how long until i reached my destination.
"Jerry" the always happy voice greeted me. What are you doing out here i asked? I'm sorry cury. jerry huged her and said i shouldn't have said that you were childish, because you're the kindest person have ever met.
I let go off her and gazed at the woods, there's indeed an outlet in one of the trees.
What are you doing? I asked gently. Oh! Just giving the homeless some burgers cury stratched her head. They live in the wood? I was surprised to find out how touh that might be. Some real life robin hood, "i don't know"cury shrugged, i can tell that she's been honest. She placed the neatly unwrapped food near the old tree with a box behind it.
"Let go now, i dont want to disturb them". Yes i nodded. Why are you doing this? I broke the silence our footstep seems far to empty on the deserted pavement.
One of them saved my dog, cury replied. Tucking her hands in her pocket. Hushpuppy went missing one day, it was a refugee boy who brought him back.
He knocked and ran, "cury continued to explain staring at the last ray of sunlight for today. "I left mum to attend to hushpuppy and went after the boy. He was a fast runner but yet so skinny. Tht night was so dark, all i knew was him yelling at me to stop chasing him and then he jumoed into the woods.
I listened carefully as cury stopped to take a deep breath. I was frughtened, as all of a sudden, i was left alone in the dark. "Cury resumed. I looked into her clear eyes". All i wanted to do was ti thank him. And that how you brought up the outlet thing? I asked, alread knowing the answer. Cury blinked. Not really, i wasn't the only one cury nudged her mouth to one side. "But my family did buy that lamp and some food.
When we came back once again, the food was gone cury eyelashes flickered. They helped hushpuppy alot, they literally saved his life. The vet said he was probably stuckef somewhere before he was rescued. That's way i'd feel bad not helping them in return.

witness
Jerry as @jerrybandfield
Solomon as @sirsticks
Cury as @curie
Geekgirl as @geekgirl

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mhizoptic to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57