Art Explosion week 31: Time Submission

in #artexplosion6 years ago

timekeeper.jpg

Here is my "Time" entry for this weeks art explosion contest hosted by @juliakponsford

For this submission it was really important to me to use the wooden clock that I am sitting on. My parents divorced when I was around 3 years old, I don't remember living with my father. When I went to visit over the years though this clock was always sitting on the mantle above the fireplace.
When he passed away in 2012 it was one of the things that I got to keep. For me that particular clock is symbolic of the limited time we have here on earth.
The clock with the wings is sort of playing with the idea that time flies, but also the gesture is to represent time to let go.

Here are the individual pieces I used for this composite.

_MG_6874.JPG
_MG_6914.JPGone.gif

Clocks and time are a really great theme to work with. There are so many directions that you can go with it. For me taking a personal route seemed like the obvious choice. Can't wait to see what other people came up with for this theme though!

vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

Its beautiful! I have a clock with memories as well, but mine always makes me giggle. My grandparents had a clock that I loved, but also chimed on the hour and a!ways woke me when we were staying there as a child. I would lay there counting each chime to see what time it was. I always looked tired and happy in pictures from their house. In some conversation with my gradmother on the phone we somehow brought it up and I said I dont know how you get a good nights sleep with it around. She said I want you to have it when I pass on then so you can see. I told her not to talk about dying I loved her, but she did pass a few years later and I got the clock. I went through a few years winding it and it bothered all who stayed with me, so much so that one of my guests put it on the porch. I no longer wind it, but it sits in a place of honor, i giggle inside when i see it I never found out how to sleep to it!

I don’t think I could sleep with a clock that chimes either. Too bad clocks don’t come with volume control.

I love your creativity! In the past I haven't gotten many photography entries that were made on the spot for the theme so I really appreciate this :)

I think because I do composite that opens up my ability to work within themes with photography. I’m not seeing a lot of composite photographers here on Steemit so I am really hoping that by sharing my work more people will become interested and maybe give it a try!

@wildempress, this is absolutely gorgeous! Wow so impressive. It’s so cool that you are your own model. I recognize you from your last post here on Art Explosion. Wonderful!99EBFE63-3A43-4AEF-80AF-5B1C0B9BDFB8.jpeg

Thank you 😊 it is definitely convenient to be my own model, but I’ve noticed the added perk of...yes people start to recognize me on here.

Your brilliant! Especially loved your introduceyourself yourself post. You were just so honest with describing who you are. I pray you’ll have fun here and stay. Your an awsome person that I’m blessed to meet. I’m a complete extrovert, but I love introverts, I’ve been married to one for almost 40 years now. I’ve found introverts really have a lot to say, they just release it in a different way. My husband likes to write, and he’s incredibly good at it. May God bless you wildempress your a very unique and wonderful treasure that I’ve spotted.

😊 awe, you’re so sweet!!

I love your photo-collage! It contains so many allusions, to the transiency of beauty, of love, how time will go on for everyone and that although we sometimes want to stop it, we cannot. For me the vast dark background could symbolize the universe where everything enfolds, where humanity is only a tiny dot.
I also very much like the strong contrast between your light hair and clothes and everything else.
Resteemed!

what thoughtful observations. Thank you!! Yes the dark background does also hold quite a bit of symbolic nature to it as well!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32