Artexplosion week 39 theme whimsical :"project Whimsical Willow"

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone

inCollage_20180524_223549989.jpg

Welcome to my whimsical project for the artexplosion hosted by @juliakponsford & @vachemorte. In this two weeks, I haven't made a drawing I opened up my soul and flew to Fantasyland with hearing the word "whimsical, whimsical" repeatedly in my head.
Because art has all different kind of forms and shapes, I started my project with something from my childhood. As a younger girl in the 90's I played with Barbie Dolls and I had this pretty Sindy Barbie fairy princess. I was so found of her! And now so many many years later, when I got my barbiebox out of the barn, I saw her again and noticed how awefull her hair looked and her make up was semi disappeared, so I wanted to renew her, give her the same status she once had but with some drastic changes. I got rid of her hair and the make up she wore but didn't had any idea what so ever.
Then whimsical came along, I love saying that word it too haha.
I sprayed my Barbie into a minty green color and once she was totally covered, she went straight to the make-up saloon for a fabulous make over/ transformation. I started off with soft pastels but that didn't work out so, my own make up pallet did the trick, for the glitter on the eyes I combined a yellow acrilyc paint and mixed it with gold glitters. The eye liner is made out of black acrilyc paint. Because I like glitters, I made her lips sparkle too, you will see that later on in this post;)

My first sketch of what I wanted with the theme, looks like this. ( This sketch was done in 5 minutes just to make it visible for everyone)

DSC_1018.JPG

This would be a goddes like fairy-ish creature with long hair of grass.... Yes grass :)

This was just a basic sketch of the idea and I got excited to start right away. I got my sewing machine and found some fabrics in the barn what I could use.
The fabric wasn't white at all infact it was very colorful and I liked it alot! I decided to use that for the dress instead of the save plain first idea of the dress.

inCollage_20180523_234018835.jpg

The outfit became a skirt, made out of a pattern I traced from a Barbie dress I found in the Barbie box.
I cutted out the pattern and sewed the back together.
I also wanted to attach a top but it didn't work out like I wanted to be so, I left that for lster. And trusted my creativty I would come up with something awesome for that!

)
In the box where I kept my sewing machine, I found a bag of feathers and noticed that the colors were matching the colors of the skirt and along the way I placed them on the bottom of the skirt.
Another material I used was acrilic yarn, this one I got, is very fluffly and I was playing around with it. I started making a dread out of it and put some glue on it to make it stick in the shape I was turning it. It became her " belt" excellent for her skirt.

20180524_163843.gif

I had some feathers left and had the perfect idea for her top, of course I would use the feathers! The white fabric what she was wearing on top of her skirt was cut until it was just like bikini top size. I layed the feathers on the top and glued them on. To finish it off I pulled out my diamond stones and voilá.
Not only was I doing the top, but cut out fake lashes glued them on the eyeliner.

IMG_20180522_001006.jpg

Like I said earlier, her hair on the sketch, was made out of grass. The plan was to put the plant I would buy in her head, so I cut of the top of her head and my husband said, why don't you buy a little parsley plant at the supermarket, and thought that was a good one so I got it, but unfortunately that didn't worked as well like I would have wanted because there wasn't enough space in her head so it wouldn't stay.....

IMG_20180522_004305.jpg

The next day I was walking outside and all of the sudden I seem to be interested in plants haha. I found a great one right next to an appartment. It was just some weed so I had in mind it wouldn't be bad if I took it out of the ground 😇
I glued this unknown plant in her head, I know it will eventually change color and will be dead but for the picture and idea it was perfect. It had a great "hair-like " structure.
Again I took some yarn to make some accessories as you can see on the picture.

IMG_20180522_162845.jpg

IMG_20180522_165510.jpg

The glue caused some damage to the spray paint on the face, so I decided to add some extra sparkle to her face and it turned out to look great too!

DSC_1112.JPG

Now the only thing left to do, is get her on the picture as beautiful or should I say as "whimsical" as possible .🙃
So I went to the public garden, that's downstairs my appartment, and asked my nabor if she would like to give me a hand on the decorations and she was happy to help, we looked for nice places to to make my " whimsical Willow" pose for the camera.
My creation just got a name. 😍

So ladies and gentlemen, here I proudly present to you the finished project, here is

"Whimsical Willow"

inCollage_20180525_000735354.jpg

IMG_20180524_224833.jpg

IMG_20180524_224900.jpg

inCollage_20180524_230930546.jpg

inCollage_20180524_235918845.jpg

Here is the contest link:
https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-39-theme-whimsical-now-25-sbd-in-prizes

Thanks for sharing my projects with you I hope you like it. I love to create this kind of art although it is time consuming I can take my time and enjoy this kind some longer if I spread it out in a few weeks;) thanks @juliakponsford and @vachemorte for this theme and a new word that now sertainly has a beautiful meaning to me❤

20180521_130548.gif

IMG_20180304_001220.jpg

Disclaimer : this whole art project and all art you see here is made by me.
©all rights reserved® @nymia.aryn

Sort:  

Wow! Amazing work is really beautiful and full creative, I love it!

Thank you @akarantain, it was a lot of fun to do😊

Wow this is amazing @nymia.aryn ! very creative, and very well done! Good luck with the contest!

Thank you @alldutchcreation I was not one of the winners in the contest but having such an idea like this and creating it just as in my mind, it feels already like winning :) thanks for your support ❤

This post is really fantastic I love all the process images!

Thank you very much Julia, I wanted to give the experience of how she transformed and what was needed for that. I only forgot to tell that her eyebrows are from little thyme leaves as well ;) X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29