CAREER GIRL | VINTAGE CARTOON FOR ART EXPLOSION WEEK 26

The Career Girl

Career Girl.png

Typewritter Border.JPG

News Corp has put up a "Now Hiring" notice outside their door. A woman is reading it intently.

The senior editor walks out to get a hotdog from the stand across the street. He is surprised by the sight of the young redheaded girl.

Were they also hiring a secretary? No. They wanted a junior editor. Surely this lovely girl wasn't interested in getting that job?

Hiring Focus.png

The 1960s signified a great change. A debate about gender discrimination in the press, followed by the general debate about gender roles during the second-wave feminism, quickly raised the numbers of female reporters in the press from 1965 onward. (wiki)

*

The theme for @juliakponsford's Art Explosion this week is VINTAGE.

Somehow this word evokes scenes from the 1960's in my mind with old cars, stores and news agencies, billboards, 60's fashion, etc. So I decided to draw a scene with all these vintage things and added a little story to it. I hope my concept is not too far off from the theme!

The idea of a news room was inspired by the movie Good Night and Good Luck.

Murrow.gif
credit

Drawing 1960 With ArtRage Lite Software


Here is a process montage of how I drew "Career Girl". I used a chiselled pen for the outline and watercolor brush to color everything. The process of how I paint digitally is always the same and I shared this in detail in one of my recent posts, Hana.

Career Girl Process.gif

You can find @juliakponsoford's contest here. Special thanks to her and to @vachemorte for this challenge!

OneHeart Border.jpg

See you next time,

NoelleArtSig.png


Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

That was beautiful. You make the best art :) Got my follow.

Oh my goodness! Thank you very much! 🙏

This is so cute thank you for the entry!

Nice crreativity you've got here. There is a community on discord that welcomes people like you and your talent. You can join slothicorn on discord here. It's a community of creative artists. You can also visit their profile on steemit.

Thank you so much! I will definitely check this out! Grateful for your kind comment and support :)

Noelle, this is amazing! You can definitely publish your own comic books and works of art na!

Thank you very much @renalexis! Your comment made me so happy. I've been so busy lately, di nako nakaka scroll ng feed. I have just enough time to draw and then post. Thank you, thank you!

Amazing style! I love it.. I just followed you :)

Thanks so much!


Congratulations! You are one of our Weekly featured Authors.
Welcome to Steemit Philippines. Check out @steemph and join us in discord to connect with other Filipinos on Steemit.


Wow! Thank you so much @steemph, I'm very honored! Followed you to keep up with more ph authors and their work!

How could I have missed this? Reminds me of the movie Back to the Future when Marty found himself in a town just like this. Like this very much.

Char pa uy. Haha. Thanks. Pinakita ko na to sayo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00