Art Explosion: Week 65 Mythical Creatures

in #artexplosion5 years ago

Hello Steemit friends!

I hope I still made it on time. I was not slacking off but had been resting for quite some time because of my condition. I had been suffering flu for a week already. I just find my condition so annoying that I could not even concentrate on reading for the upcoming licensure examination for teachers. Please wish me luck!

Anyway, this post by the way is my entry for @juliakponsford's Week 65 Art Explosion Competition. If you had been my follower from the very beginning, you might have noticed that I had been joining this competition for quite some time already.

It would be nice if you also take part of the said competition and send link your entry. You might then realize that you are a very creative person and it just needs a little awakening.

This is an up close image of my work by the way. Out of the numerous lists of mythical creatures, I decided to make my own version of a nymph.

I chose the nymph because I am just fascinated how some Filipino literary works describe them.

For this art project, I decided to use the back of a 1/8 illustration board. I just decided to cut it from a 1/4 illustration board. I also used the 6 colors Colleen Poster Colors and the Gold and Silver Poster Colors from Dong-A that I bought at National Bookstore.

As you can see, I chose a white charcoal pencil to outline my work.

Since every art project of mine is a product of experiment, I tested how the gold paint would look on my work. I have noticed then that it looks incredibly fine with the nymph hair.

I decided not to use the black poster color to outline. It would just be used after the entire work is done to avoid irreparable mistakes which usually happens on my work. Haha!

As you can observed, I took time in finding the right skin tone for my subject. I find it better to mix colors (red, yellow, blue, and white) because it is just so satisfying although it might consume a lot of my time.

And then I proceeded with the hair. I used a flat brush but I made sure that every strokes of it would be visible to create a flow on the hair of our nymph.

I painted her dress then with silver. Since she is a mythical creature, I opted for this color. It also symbolizes elegance and sophistication.

For her lower part, I used a fan brush. Fan brushes allow painters to create a certain texture. I must say, fan brushes would also work great in making feathers and feather-like objects.

And here is my over all work:

Below are details/ up close look of the artwork. I did not signed the artwork for the reason that I do not really bother selling it. I also decided to write the details at the back instead on the artwork itself.

Did you enjoy the process? I hope you did. Next time, I will try myself to set-up my table and include a video (time-lapse) so I could show you how I made it.

Have a great weekend!

Love,
Johanna Gail

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you @helpiecake ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Brilliant painting friend, i use to be an artist, but i lost the touch.

Brilliant painting friend,
I use to be an artist,
But i lost the touch.

                 - oluwoleolaide


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It would be wonderful if you pursue. You will have the passion soon. I believe in that.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87