My Entry for : ART EXPLOSION WEEK 24 - Theme LIGHT

in #artexplosion7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the challenge for art explosion week 24 which has the theme of Light. This challenge is thanks to @juliakponsford.

Here is a closeup for the thumbnail.

jan18doglightdonecloseup.jpg

Here is the entire piece

jan18doglightdone2.jpg

I took the theme of light and wanted to do a piece in oil showing a stark contrast of light and shadow. Of course, I often use animals as my subject matter and this time I used an image of my sweet Italian Greyhound Sophie. We lost her just before Christmas, but she lived to the ripe old age of 20, so she had a good life.

I really wanted to play on the orange of the chair and the orange of light in her from the bright sunshine.

This is a rough sketch to get the idea down.

jan18doglightdonesketch.jpg

I scan the image and used digital oil painting and oil pastel to finish the piece.

If others would like to join this fun challenge please do so right HERE


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful painting! Love the softness and blur of your strokes. :)

Thanks! lots of blending and underpainting.

Wow it's so soft and glowy, very cool technique!

Thank you, really wanted to show light and dark.

Oil makes it sooo bright and intense, great choice :)

I thought so too, let's the light bounce in the brush strokes.

Wow, @donnadavisart, this artwork is beautiful, very touching (reminded me of my beloved dog, gone for years now) and I'm impressed by how skilled you are with digital tools! I was sure it's an oil painting. Hihi I would love to see the progress of work, because the final effect is so grand. All the best and good luck in the contest, fellow participant ;)

I need to learn how to record the screen so I can do that.

Wonderful light effects in this image Donna. It gives the impression of the dog enjoying lying in a warm patch of light. Very cosy.

Thanks for visting! I did it for a challenge called light so I really wanted that stark contrast of shadow and warm tones and I tried to play up on that with orange in the chair picking up in the dogs ears and fur and the honey warm tones of the floor.

You have done very well with the warm glow around the dog. Yes, that is a good description, honey warm tones.

really impressive technique thank you for entering the contest!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33