ART EXPLOSION: Week 28, Melancholy

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for @juliakponsford 's amazing art contest called ART EXPLOSION

The theme is melancholy. When I tried to picture an image for this, I saw what is in the photo pretty much. So I took a photo of myself to set it up as a reference image, to draw it. But when I started messing with it, I felt this image stands on its own. Its very simple but I like the way it turned out.

When I feel melancholic, its like part of me is trying to pull me out of it, and the other part is drawing me in.
melencholia.jpg

I am submitting both a color and black and white version of this. I like how sickly pink my skin looks in the color one, and the bluagghghg oozing out of my hand in a weird gross way.

Melencholiacolor.jpg

If you like this , please check out my blog and see what else is new. Like everyone else around here, I can use all the support I can get! :)

Thanks,

xo,

dflo pink.png

Sort:  

Nice. It's like you are holding a genie, who are yourself. Or something like a mirror smoke. :)

Cool image :)

Dayam! That's really cool! I think it expresses melancholy rather well.

Very nice work. I really love how your grasping hand looks in the black and white.
Good to see you involved with the awesomness of @juliakponsford. She is a superstar of steemit.

I agree that my hand looks more believable in that b&w one. I was coloring with a mouse instead of in my ipad on Procreate , so it was a little trickier. I decided i still liked the weird weightlessness of the color image though i dunno. But yeah the black and white actually seems to have that weight or substance there in my hand , it makes more sense visually. Thanks for the comment! :) I think Julia is rad too! :)

I think the scale of the black and white being closer in had appeal to me. I also always see melancholy as being a darker flat place. Great contribution to the contest!

Hey thanks for this feedback. I included the color one in part cuz I was also torn about how I cropped it. This is great to get this input!

Great work! I like how you tied in the theme. It is definitely difficult to get out of that feeling. Good luck on the contest and we are resteeming!!

Thank you so much for the support and resteeming! 💚💛💜😁

That's really great dflo. I hope you win!!

That's funny about your hand, but excellent shot!

I love the concept of this its absolutely beautiful how it turned out, thanks so much for the entry!

Its nice. I def see the melencholy in your eyes ...

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66836.85
ETH 3510.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19