ART EXPLOSION WEEK 36: Theme CITY. Night city. A view from an airplane. Art. Watercolor

in #artexplosion6 years ago

P_20180415_132335_vHDR_Auto1.jpg

For a long time I did not take part in drawing competitions, but when the theme of the current week caught my eye - I decided to try. I really hope that I have correctly translated the time of the end of the contest and my work will have time to take part in it. This is my entry to Art Explosion drawing contest by @juliakponsford.

I paint with the watercolor "Nevskaya Palitra": cadmium yellow medium, cadmium lemon, neutral black, indigo. I paint on Fabriano cotton paper 300 g / m2, 25% cotton. For the effect of lights, I use a masking fluid.

Every picture starts with an idea. I thought of drawing a night city, a view from the cockpit. Firstly, it's very beautiful, I always look out the window when I manage to fly at night. Secondly, it is very unusual that I also like it.

I start with a preliminary sketch of a pencil - this is the line of roads that shine most brightly in the city. Now I am typing the first layer with bright colors - these are the future lights. This layer must be dried carefully, so I take a hairdryer.

Now I can apply a masking liquid to leave the light. I draw the main lines of roads and glows in the city and the suburbs. This layer must also be dried.

I turn to the background. I take the darkest colors and fill the whole picture. Dry the layer, remove the masking liquid and slightly adjust the color with watercolor pencils so that there is no white paper. My art is ready!

Video process:

According to the rules of the contest I need to provide intermediate photos, but I do not have them. If I can not participate with the video process, then I will not be upset, but I would like to know that it is for this reason that the work will not be considered competitive. In order not to repeat my mistakes in the future.

Thank you for watching!



Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



P.S. It is hard to write in English, because my native language is Russian. But I'm learning. If you notice serious errors in the text that interfere with the correct perception, please let me know about them.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55