Artchallenge #13 entry: The Rice Gleaners

in #artchallenge7 years ago

This week's ArtChallenge is to interpret this painting by Pavel Kuchinski.

U5dstfLhmmwXgVDcNGvuMbkRXAVjLAw_1680x8400.jpg

Here's my interpretation

The Rice Gleaners

I think this painting alludes to Jean-Francois Millet’s painting "The Gleaners" (1857) which has been referenced by artists such as Banksy, Van Gogh and others. The earthy colours used in the painting also show the source of inspiration. Weddings are meant to be happy and usually the colours would be brighter so I think it highlights the gap between the poor and the rich in an interesting way.

The people celebrating the wedding are throwing rice for good luck (or wishing fertility for the newlyweds) while the gleaners are picking up the rice grains. There is great thought put into the details since the gleaners wear the triangular hats commonly seen in Asia among people working in the rice fields. In Chinese we call these hats Douli 斗笠 and they are usually made of bamboo. The painting not only comments on the gap between the haves and have nots it also points to cultural differences between the East and the West. I see the painting as a call for people not to waste and to think of the less fortunate while you celebrate joyful occasions such as weddings.

As always, thanks to @aksinya for this wonderful challenge. I always learn a lot from the weekly paintings.

Thanks for reading!

@snooway

Sort:  

I think that as you celebrate an occassion, invited the less unfortunate..


#redfish community!

Great idea!

I love it! Thank you!

As I read through your interpretation of this painting, it reminded me of a post I did on a subculture called the Freegans. They are individuals who refuse to participate economically in society, choosing to reclaim everything (including food) from trash bins. The amount of food, still edible yet thrown away they recover and the sheer number of people they feed in their soup kitchens and restaurants is staggering.

They rail against the excesses gluttony of society, yet I am struck by how both (the Freegans and the ostentatious gluttons)need each other to exist in their parallel worlds and economies.

Great interpretation.

Yes I have heard of the Freegans. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11