You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Artchallenge #13 entry: The Rice Gleaners

in #artchallenge7 years ago

As I read through your interpretation of this painting, it reminded me of a post I did on a subculture called the Freegans. They are individuals who refuse to participate economically in society, choosing to reclaim everything (including food) from trash bins. The amount of food, still edible yet thrown away they recover and the sheer number of people they feed in their soup kitchens and restaurants is staggering.

They rail against the excesses gluttony of society, yet I am struck by how both (the Freegans and the ostentatious gluttons)need each other to exist in their parallel worlds and economies.

Great interpretation.

Sort:  

Yes I have heard of the Freegans. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56