ARTCHALLENGE #6 With @aksinya Vladimir KushsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #artchallenge7 years ago (edited)

I am not familiar with Kush's work.

To maintain the authenticity of the challenge I have not researched at all.
As @aksinya's challenge stipulates , I will simply write what I see.

This is definitely an intriguing piece of surrealist art.

The focal point of this piece is unmistakably the pair of pointy healed red shoes. The shoes together form a bridge that is juxtaposed on an otherwise relatively benign landscape. The painterly quality is pleasant, but I believe intentionally stark, to enhance the contrast of the shoes.
I don't know the medium used, though the mountains in the background are very soft, as is the vegetation. The application suggests a water colour effect, or perhaps more likely a gentle application of oil. The landscape is divided by a still, brownish body of water.

This style has been starkly contrasted by the shiny, vibrant, alluring, if not provocative heals, that tower at the top of the bridge on a daring pair of pointed stilettos.

It is the shoes that give this painting it's surrealist quality.

Significant also is the cloud that hangs low, directly above the brightly coloured bridge.

As this work speaks to me, what is it I hear in it's message? What do I see in this intentionally incongruous image?


I keep hearing in my head - Ruby Red Slippers

As I observe the traveller, on foot, cart, car, bicycle and if I'm not mistaken a crustacean, clearly this is a popular thoroughfare, on an otherwise uninhabited landscape.
Just as Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz wished to escape to a better life, and then did all she could to return, I believe this work speaks of the notion of, The grass is always greener.

To the observer clearly the grass on both sides of this mirky stagnant water is equally satisfactory, but far from lush.

I believe the artist is conveying the human trait in which we are continually attempting to find something better than we already have, and all the while not notice that everything you search for is already available right where you are.

Perhaps I could go so far as to suggest that the shoes and their decadence represent the consumerism and greed that drives this desire to always be searching for something more.

The shiny shoes with their unmissable mesmerising sheen, lull the individual into believing that they are on a glamorous path, only to find themselves similarly placed on the other side.

It is the cloud, that hangs above the travellers that speaks the truth of the journey.

It overshadows the path as though warning the travellers, attempting to shadow the bright path, revealing the true nature of the quest. However true to the insular human endeavour of self satisfaction, none of the eager travellers seem to notice it.

In contrast to the grey of the low hanging cloud, and the illusion promised by the glare of the bridge, with further consideration, the landscape takes on a less bleak appearance, and upon reflection delivers a tranquility and authentic beauty that can't be found in the short term satisfaction of the instant gratification of consumerism.

Edit addit : It has been brought to my attention that the crustacean I noted on my tiny screen, with my blurry vision is in fact a fish being carried by several people.
This is a highly significant feature. The absurdity of laboriously carrying a fish across water further highlights the notion of mindless task oriented journey, that ignores what is already available, should the traveller stop and take stock.
Thanks @antonchanning


What do you see? Everyone see something. Do we look for what we seek, or does the artist tell the story?

In this challenge @aksinya asks us to describe what it is we see. It is amazing how diverse the interpretations can be.
Art isn't always about asking the artist what their pieces means. It is equally about the artist asking the observer what it is they see.

This challenge is a wonderful contribution to the Steemit collaborative movement.

https://steemit.com/artchallenge/@aksinya/winners-of-artchallenge-5-new-theme-for-artchallenge-6-announcement-no-need-to-be-an-artist-or-an-art-expert-to-join-this


Sort:  

I love it! I love it! I love it! Very interesting idea which even has not come to my mind!!!!!!!!!! Thank you very much! I like the whole post in general too! Resteemed and I am very happy you have joined the challenge!!!!!!!!!

Very interesting. I hadn't thought about the meaning of the cloud!

Interesting analysis. I'd add that the 'crustacean' is actually a bunch of people carrying a very large fish. The guy in front of them is urging them onwards.

Updated post with credit to you.

Thank you, my weak eyes fail me, especially working on a phone . I will do an addit with credit to you.
That is crucial. Carry a fish across water.
Thanks again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62686.30
ETH 2673.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56