Artchallenge #1! Rene Magritte. "Lovers". Everybody is welcome!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #artchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody!

I would like to invite you to join Artchallenge #1 "Rene Magritte. Lovers".
Different people see different things when they look at the same painting and I think it will be very interesting to share versions.

The rules are very easy.

I will be posting a photo of a painting which can tell us more than we see. And you shall write your interpretation of what you see in the comment to the post . You can give a name to the painting. Sense of humor is also welcome (but not offensive).

  • Write a comment with a name or your interpretation
  • You can make up to 3 versions
  • End of challenge will be next Sunday (March 26) at 12:00 (UTC +4).

Prizes:
Winner - 30 STEEM
Second place - 20 STEEM
Third place - 10 STEEM

Today I suggest you think about the meaning of the painting "Lovers" by Rene Magritte.
I have read about 3 interpretations. I will tell you about them when declaring the winners. We will see if there is coincidence. And unique versions have advantages.

For this challenge you shall give interpretation to this painting:

enter image description here
Image Source

I will highly appreciate if you write your interpretation of this painting, vote and resteem this post.

I will be also very happy to any support of the artchallenge!

Thank you in advance for your support! Let us have fun together.

Sort:  

Fabricated Love

I've got a few perspective's why this painting could be called that.
-Both people have fabric over their head. So they need to imagine how the would feel if they were naked ( in other words; they have to fabricate a story in their head from the other and how it would feel without the barrier)

Another perspective could be that this love is nicely wrapped in fabric thus fabricated.

the watcher painter of the painting fabricates his or her own story of why the fabric is there (s)he needs to go through three maybe four layers of fabric.
(s)he is confronted that the painting is made of fabric
(s)he fabricates a story about that the one person is a man and the other a woman but it might not be true at all
(s)he probably moves in the head of the man than the women and fabricates a story how each of them might feel
and maybe (s) he's caught in the fabric of his own memory and remember how a kiss feels and has to imagine how it feels with fabric over his/her head.

And there is jet another story that I fabricated about the painting.
The fabricated story from me, about in what lines a person that watches/painted the painting might think

English is not my native language so I hope I made a little sense

Wow. I highly appreciate it! Very - very interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love is based on loving the soul of the Partner, the inside beauty is much more important than the visible beauty. Hence the bodies are covered and invisible to make the other ones heart discoverable

The sands of time
When i look at this i see the sands of time robbing us of our passion. The folds in the fabric remind me of the ridges on dunes as they constantly rebuild themselves under the content assault of the wind. I see features drawn smooth by times passage here in just such a way. Eroded until nothing visible is left. The passion of the kiss smoothed away.

Wow! Great one! And very poetic! Thank you!

Thank you very much! I like the idea of this competition!

Thank you very much for your support!

The Blind Date

Falling in love with your personality and your laughter, rather than your looks and your smile.
Being drawn in by your touch and your warmth, rather than being impressed by your trendy clothing (or not).
Being loved by your embrace, and not getting hung up on how well you can kiss...
Letting go of everything that could be contrived, and falling for someone because they are "there" & "present", regardless of age, race, or visual beauty.

Very beautiful interpretation indeed! This is what true love is.....

Love is more than just physical attraction! You have to grab it, hold it and never let it go no matter what!

If all men think like that!!!! I like you more and more!))))))))) Very good one!

“My love, I find you as alternatively beautiful as myself. Might I suggest we shield ourselves from the intensity of said beauty so that our amorous interlude can proceed free from distraction? Yes, I knew you would agree…”

)))))))))))))))) very interesting!!!!! Thank you very much!!!!!!!!

On one hand I feel the painting represents the unforeseen challenges that love sometimes presents. In my opinion the sheets covering their heads portray their unwillingness to see these potential challenges.

On the other hand a totally different perspective would be that they feel that their relationship is smothering their individual personalities. While they are clearly involved, the sheet over their heads could signify that they feel they can't breathe around each other. A sign that the relationship could be on the rocks.

Great interpretations. I love it!

Thank you! Love this contest, jumpstarted my winter-frozen brain a bit!

Good! I already have a new one for next week))) So, please be ready))) And thank you for taking part. I really appreciate it!!!!!!

I feel like sheets over their heads represent not being completely honest, raw and authentical self. We wear our clothes to cover up and we are only naked with someone we 100% trust. It represents being covered (maybe in shame or in fear) not only physically but also mentally. I can see the desire by how they lean torwards eachother but desire doesn't equal love and trust, which are needed for healthy relationships. The dim lights also add some darkness, almost like they are eachothers only saviours but the connection is based on lust and fear (of not being good enough).

This explanation is very close to mine. I love it. Thank you very much!

There was something in the air that one night in the LDS summer camp that made the two decide to break the norm and end up between the sheets. What they lacked in experience they made up in enthusiasm.

hahaha good one

I love you with my heart and soul my body and mind
I love you even when I am blind
I love you even when I am week and small
For your love makes me tall
For your love makes me strong
Love is never wrong

My interpretation: Love this more than the eye can see. Thank you very much for the inspiration. Great idea :)

Beautiful-beautiful-beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69