Departure CeremonysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

thumb.jpg

This one also was a commission. Thing to be depicted was prior moments of a spaceship launch, like a ceremony or the loading of a spaceship before taking flight into the unbeknownst. I started with roughies... hyper-rough sketches to give me an idea of how it could look:

c1.jpg

c2.jpg

c3.jpg

... super rough huh?

So I liked the shape of the first sketch, but somehow I wanted to explore more angles. I went and sculpted the ship:

c4.jpg
Rear of the spaceship.

c5.jpg
Couple of angles.

Then modeled all the context: environment and floor etc... Oh I tend to use little rectangular prisms where the people is going to be painted. So all that rectangular tall boxes represent people, I do so I can be coherent with the perspective and size. I set up lighting and shot this:

c9.jpg
This hyper-rough sketch I actually send to client explaining my idea.

I liked how the ship looked from the rear but was not so sure of the front and sides. So I went and redesigned the ship. Sculpted another one:

c6.jpg

c7.jpg

c8.jpg

This sculpture is the one I made another illustration with and posted it. Here's the other post. That old post was done later than this piece. Was a way for me to try and expand a little the "universe" client was creating. Just for kicks.

So I liked that spaceship enough and set up the scene.

c9.gif

Set up the lighting and the camera angle and shot this:

c10.jpg

And then painted over it.

c11.gif

You can see at the end I changed the colors of the ship and the characters. I made it with super washed out colors and client was great enough to point that out. Gotta study more how colors behave. A lot more.

Final:
c12.jpg
Full res

A few zooms about the characters(cuz I always make them super small, but zooming in they look like of a pixel art game or something):

c13.jpg
So you have here the crew receiving some kind of blessing by the elder-wise-lorekeeper before departure. Behind the elder his right and left hands, one of both would succeed him.

c13a.jpg
Look at that pixel art elder hahahaha.

c13b.jpg
The crew, form left to right:
The co-pilot, expert astronomer and navigator.
Samuel L. Jackson aka The hard-science expert.
The captain-pilot, chosen one to lead this spaceship.
The technician, expert spaceship engineer.
The bio-researcher, she would know if something looking yummy is toxic.
The crisis-manager, expert survivalist and badass tall gal.

c14.jpg
The guys loading the ship. Super coordinated.

c15.jpg
Solemn watchers. Checking out everything goes according to the departure ceremony.

So that's it. Departure... to the land of zzzzzzzzz.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks ;)

Congratulations @znkd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Very cool, I've always been fond of painted 3D work. I enjoy how the world you created in this image seems to have a air of mysticism that is missing in most sci-fi worlds. I look forward to seeing your next work.

Thanks man! Glad you like the mystical aspect. I really like when a sci-fi story delivers that kind of unknown, enigmatic or arcane something, Feels nice that contrast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72