Alien RuinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

thumb.jpg

I'm revisiting some old files, and there are some pieces I really like the result, and want to share and write about.
Haven't been able to do new stuff cause job is unmerciful... and cheap ((╬◣﹏◢)).

This one was supposed to depict ruins in an alien planet. I started with a sketch, to place something in the canvas and follow the path of the muses XD.

c3.jpg

I actually send that sketch to client. They liked and I proceeded.

At first I had this idea of some ruins à la Chozo 'cause I love Metroid. But things revolved in my head and I decided to make the ruins a little bit like Aztek or Mayan pyramids. I love Aztek and Mayan art... and pretty much any Prehispanic art & Architechture... well the bits and pieces that survived catholic fire 'cleansing' (;⌣̀_⌣́).

So I sculpted this floating double pyramid.

c4.gif

The above gif shows only a little of the process, because I was not engaged in register it at all. At that time.

I found a nice angle to rendered it and did it.

c5.jpg

The artwork had to be vertical, half-letter size. A very tall composition. Don't know if I did a good job with it but at least I tried.

I took screenshots of 2 clones of the ruins but in other locations. So the picture depicted at least three of the floating double pyramids. I didn't rendered them 'cause there was no need to. I was going to paint on top.

c6.jpg

And I painted over it. These file is an utter mess of layers ahahahhaa. Really. I couldn't make a gif of the of the process... Sorry.

This is the final:

c7.jpg
Full Res

I love those clouds. Was real fun to paint'em. I think they ended looking sexy. It's my favorite part of this one hahahaha. Alas, I don't think I did a great job with the trees (*_ _).

Some zoomz:

c8.jpg

The explorers, from left to right:

-Pod-Ship, she carries the three humans through this planet and to the mothership, has a small frame for maneuverability. She looks like an insect, perhaps one of those truly little grasshoper-like buggies that look like a tiny green leaf. They actually have little wings. Not made for flight but for aid the hopping. Have you seen them?

-Pilot, an expert in small-frame vehicles aimed for agile flight and dive. She's an edgy one. That's why she's in the ... edge of the... mhmm.

-Exo-Archeologyst. A nerdy gal that dreams of understanding ancient tech and lore... because is really difficult. Here she may achieve it, it seems there's a resemblance with an ancient earthen culture... She's very focused admiring the materials and inscriptions of the ruins.

-Survival Officer. An expert survivalist for the most dire situations. Has to assure the survival of the scientific research. He's admiring the view through the thick atmosphere, kinda concerned with those big ass manta ray-like creatures approaching.

There are various teams in the planet at the moment researching. But these guys are the first that arrived to the ruins. Lucky bastards.

c9.jpg

In my head these ruins acted as some sort of water source for the forest to thrive, they absorbed humidity from the thick atmosphere and poured it down like little falls on the forest, powered by some sort of gravity technology, that's why they're floating (⊙_⊙). But this mechanism at some point depletes it's energy, so they, every determined age, turn vertically all the way around to recharge, recycle or whatever the gravitational energy. That's the reason of their shape. Dunno why they exist, but they show signs of impacts, like if someone would wanted to destroythem at some point. But they're as sturdy as my ass now that I've been sitting making this post. Feels now like compressed. Hope it regain its shape tomorrow.

c10.jpg

Clouds of my love.

Sort:  

You did an amazing job😊 It reminds me of my favourite Moebius 😊 Very cool story also👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow man thanks! (*/ω\) Glad you like the little writing.

You are very welcome @znkd:) You should start posting your amazing artworks at @ntopaz platform. It is a supportive art community and you will get more notice:) https://www.ntopaz.com/

Thanks again! I actually did post a couple of pieces through nTopaz. I'll keep it in mind for other posts, perhaps for some not this long.

Oh so nice to hear,😊 You can always edit them at Steemit after uploading then at nTopaz😊

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks!^2

You are totally amazing both in the art and the writing. Very descriptive, detailed, and funny.

I do think you did a great job on the clouds and the double pyramids. I really like the orange purple colour that you painted there :D.

The environment is very inspiring and story inducing :).

Thanks mate! You're verywarm always. The writing about the pyramid functioning and the pod-ship I did trip of it while painting XD. But about the explorers was a little improvised.

Oh, how beautiful it is. I am so delighted with your work, I can not convey these pleasant feelings when I look at your fanatical works, this is more than cool!

Thanks for always your kind words amigo! I was not aware we entered almost at the same time to the blockchain. I thought you were a veteran here XD. Hugs!

amazing artwork and story behind it. Thank you for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Many thanks my friend. Thank YOU for sharing love.

  • Clouds of my love.

I wish I had em in my yesterday's post)))

Oh the one with the buggies! Why no use cc0 photos to help you with? Also you can use, apart from the photos or in a standalone way, stamp brushes, there are tons of those for painting various things online and free. Some from matte painters and the like.

I'm not an artist in traditional way. I mean I have no classic background/education. In two words - I just can't feel perspective, colors, etc. I feel only the form.

Oh you don't need to be traditionally educated. I'm self taught, mainly digitally, and I just grab bits and pieces from artists, books, and tutorials. In fact, 3D has helped me a lot to understand lighting. You just have to search for what could possibly resolve a particular problem you're facing. Also many artists remark the similarities of sculpting and painting. Some recommend to think like a sculptor when painting, that mindset also has helped me greatly.

How much it took to make it?

7 or 8 days, says the 'date modified' of the files. During that time I was spread between job, daily house chores and this. Because I work from home I cannot escape the chores :( Family doesn't respect the sweat of the butt, working all day on computer.

haha)) freelance is comfortable they said)) My GF know that feelings)))

Hahaha yeah. It's a trade off. Also I don't' have much freelancing, like 3 years... I hope in the future this thing will turn nicer... please.

Wow! Thank you, @znkd for sharing your awesome art work! You are a very talented artist :) Can't wait to see more of your art pieces.

Well thank U for the warm words :D. Hugs ⊂(・ω・*⊂)!

😍😍😍😍👍👏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very cool artwork, @znkd! Reminds me a lot of Richard Corbens cartoons (sans the nudity :D )

Wow again thanks!!!! Corben's work is amazing (シ_ _)シ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37