Sketchbook challenge day 1

in #art7 years ago

Finally I got to it. I have done a first page.

At first I was reluctant and I grabbed a piece of paper to do some tests. I wanted to test my hand. As I got few lines down I started to feel more comfortable. With each line I was happier.

This is what I created:

Materials used: technical pencil with 2mm 2b lead, MARVY Uchida 0.3 pigment ink, Faber Castell colored pencils

When I was happy, I took the sketchbook, opened the first page, felt the leather and paper under my fingers. I've read the dates and crossed them out (dates were: 30.06.2015, 22.02.2016). Then I wrote a new one. I took a deep breath, picked up the pencil and started adding images to the page. At first, my mind was blank. Totally empty. It felt odd. There were no thoughts. I didn't know what to draw. I was nervous. Then I dropped the pencil on the page and started sketching a rough tree. Adding the odd clouds and pretty much I've stopped caring about the end result. It was crooked, simplistic, artistic and I was pretty much happy with it. Later, I added two monsters that are sort of cute and friendly and added some color to the second one.

This is the end result, and my first sketchbook page filled:

Lone tree, rawrrr and shy guy

Materials used: technical pencil with 2mm 2b lead, MARVY Uchida 0.3 pigment ink, Sakura 08 white gellyroll penand Faber Castell colored pencils

I will have more tomorrow. I may do more than a page daily as I get into a habit and stop being so nervous about it. After all, here I can make enough SBD's to acquire a new sketchbook soon. For now, I'm happy to do a page per day.

Have fun, take care and pursue your dreams.  

Sort:  

Nice work, really love the RAAAAWR monster.

Nice work! The monsters are adorable :3 Followed looking forward to more :D
Is this a personal challenge or are more people doing it? If so I would love to join!

Thank you @kristyglas!
This is my personal challenge, but you can join in and we can make it a steemit one :)

Sweet, will do :D didn't see reply till little late. I didn't know replies don't show up as notifications ^^

I'm waiting to see what you'll come up with :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59