Digital painting "how to" of beach (Give away)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

A follower of mine has asked if I could give a demo on my painting style. So I hope this will help others. This is my digital painting process. Feel free to ask any questions.

DSC_0036.jpg

This painting is from a beach close to my home in Evias Greece. I loved the S curve of this beach and with the sunset I thought it would be a nice easy painting to do a demo of. First of all the composition is made simple for me because of the S curve of the beach. I love when nature takes the guess work out for me. The figure in the background makes for a nice subject and it gives a human element to the painting.

painting1.jpg

As always I start my paintings with an under painting. Just scratching out the elements and borders of the subjects.

painting2.jpg

As I draw out the whole painting I make sure everything is in perspective and true. I have drawn and erased may times at this point.

painting3.jpg

I then lay down my first glaze. Well I dont know if you call it glazing in digital painting but it is just a color that is transparent letting the drawing come through. I slowly build up the color of the sky and beach. Adding layers of darker colors later on. We just want the color pallet to be established early or things can be muddy up very easily.

painting4.jpg

Just to let you know I changed the color of the sky a little because the first attempt was off. I was not going to say anything but I thought you should know not everything goes as well as it looks.

painting5.jpg

See how the under painting gives the painting life early on? I harden the edges of the drawing in the under painting so you get the feeling of paint strokes. Much like a shadow would be. Easy but effective. I am working in layers in Photoshop. So if I make a mistake I can easily adjust it.

painting6.jpg

I add more and more glazes. I'm building up the tones of color and contrasts. This is where many hours of painting come in. It takes time build the basics and years to trust yourself. At least for me.

painting7.jpg

At this point I am still using glazes but color pick a color and start painting on the main image. Sometimes I smudge a stroke around to get the effect I want. Like using a finder in oil painting to move the paint around.

painting8.jpg

Lastly I strengthen the under painting on its layer and use curves and contrast to POP the image a little. After many strokes and blends, glazes and smudges, I get a painting that I hope will give people the feeling they are near the beach on this warm sunset night in Evias Greece.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Thanks for reading my post and please consider #upvoting this post, #following me, and leaving a #comment. If you would like to help me even more please consider re–steeming me so I am able to reach your audience as well. I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

As always I will give five chances to win this original digital painting for free. original digital painting for free. Signed by me Angeliki Z to the steemit community. Why give away my paintings? To give back to the steemit community that supports my posts. Just #upvote my post and leave a #comment on this post so I can let you know that you have won. That simple. The 5 winners will be picked by random between each level of votes. So, the first painting will be picked between the first 1-10 commenters, second between 11-25 commenters, third between 26-50, the fourth between 51-100, and the fifth between 101-200 comments. Good luck.

Sort:  

Thank you for this! I'm so sorry I didn't catch it in time to resteem. I would have! I will definitely use this advice. A lot of fine work and detail goes into these paintings, but they turn out so beautifully.

I'm glade that you got something helpful out of my post! Yes hours do go into digital painting. But days go into oil paintings, so it is a nicer medium I feel. and I get to meet great people like you! If you have any questions please ask.

Wow so glad you shared this! It is really amazing how much your digital paintings look like they were painted with "real" paint on canvas. Wonderful color palette here, the muted tones of the sky and the way the reflection on the water is kind of the focal point really gives it that sense of peace which comes when you are on the beach listening to the waves and soaking in the sunset.

Much love - Carl

Thank you Carl. The effect is nice but simple and effective. I think most digital painters may not have painted with real paint to be honest. As with oil paintings glazes are the easiest way to get a realistic painting. But the long drying time between glazes make most people crazy. But in digital painting, no time at all. Yes the colors i chose from two images of the sea I had. I am really glade you liked it Carl. At least one person appreciated the post with a comment. Thanks again. :)

Than you for the how to on digital paintings. Can you look at my paintings ad give me some feedback?

Yes I will.

what apps do you use? I use procreate and art rage on the ipad pro also use the apple pencil.

Hi headspace21. I use Photoshop and a bamboo digital drawing tablet. Nothing more needed.

Nice work @zeitlini you have a really nice painting style. I love being able to see people's process, I find it very valuable and a great learning experience as I have just started getting into digital painting myself. Have you had any experience with Corel painter at all? I can't stand subscriptions so I've steered clear of all Adobe software for last 5 years or so. Thanks for the share, I look forward to more posts like these 🙏

Thank you circada! No I have not. But the techniques should be the same. Remember that painting is all about composition and contrasts, Color is last. You should try painting first in black and white. Try to copy a nice B&W photo and work on that first. Then move on to color. Keep following and you will learn more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29