Oshi Rose - A Yucca Rose Portrait

in #art7 years ago

Oshi Rose - Yucca Rose Portrait.jpg
Oshi Rose - A Yucca Rose Portrait

An original portrait of me, painted by my sister Oshi Rose. (Light acrylic on canvas / approx. 60 cm x 35 cm)

Info about my sister: Oshi Rose is a very talented and accomplished Indonesian painter and designer. Together with her husband, my sister runs the family restaurant and art gallery in Cilandak, South Jakarta - Indonesia, where we both display some of our paintings and artwork. Oshi's company Kenino Gallery Textile Painting also creates wearable art items.

From the painting series Longing and Belonging, an ever growing series of drawings, paintings and sketches featuring my precious little family and close friends in very intimate and vulnerable settings.

More portraits from the series Longing And Belonging - Family And Friends - Portraits:
Peter And Me
Professor Dr. Dirk Heckmann
Mutti - A Portrait Of A Wonderful Lady
Just Me - Two Self Portraits

The Art Of Yucca Rose.png
Copyright 2011 - Yucca Rose @ Rose Entertainment.

Sort:  

I appreciate the light, impressionistic feeling of your sister's painting. Very pretty. I'm curious: What's in your hands in this image? My eyes are drawn to the splash of green there.

Thank you very much for your kind comment @cabelindsay. I was working with some batik fabric that day - checking the color. :-)

So do you do batik fabric printing? I'd like to know how that's done, if you're willing to share. I imagine it must be a design in wax or mud that resists ink and allows some to penetrate the cracks. Am i right?

Hi, @cabelindsay - you are absolutely correct. It is hot (liquid) wax applied to the fabric - either freehand or via wood or metal stampers. Batik originates from Indonesia - some of the (royal) stampers date over a thousand years ... each region in Indonesia has their own designs and colors - Sumatra, Java or Bali etc. I love the style from Surabaya, Java. Here are some of the links to designs from my catalog (if you wish to check it out).

https://niume.com/post/301114
https://niume.com/post/301116
https://niume.com/post/301860
https://niume.com/post/308049

Oh wow, what a perfect reply. Thank you for sharing so much fun info about the batik process, including your homemade examples, how nice! My favorite is your "Ornamental Fantasy Flowers."

Hi again, thank you so much for taking the time ... I am glad that you like some of the batiks. With best wishes - Yucca

Hello Rose! Are you still there? Where are you and your inspiring beautiful paintings?

Dear @pusteblume Peter and I were travelling the last weeks and I just logged back in. Thank you so much for your concern and support ... we will be uploading a few works again soon. I am now checking if there are any new challenges and contests. I just found out that I made second place at @aksinya ArtstyleArt10 - cool. https://steemit.com/artstyleart10/@aksinya/10th-artstyleart-winners-20-sbd-100-voice-shares-to-giveaway-and-we-have-chosen-the-winners-together

Really?!! Wow! That's great! My congratulations! 🌻 I am very happy for you!
I made a second place too with this post at #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving. This is really motivating!
Welcome back! Looking forward to see you and Peter's future posts!

Cool ... congrats, great new challenges... and also, thank you for the warm welcome. :-)))

You are welcome! I am happy to "see" you again!

it is magnificent art.It is upvoted.

Hi there, thank you soo much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74