Ice Mummy! Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea Art

in #art6 years ago

ice mummy.jpg

Fantasy artwork seems to include a lot of viking themed creatures. Not that I am complaining - Norse myhtology is quite fascinating. It is fun to mix it up a little bit sometimes though. For this piece, I was thinking a lot about the ill fated Sir John Franklin voyage to find the Northwest Passage and the remains of the three sailors that were found burried in th frozen ground. It is quite a fascinating tale in and of itself. Anyway, the images of the exumed bodies definitely was an inspiration for this. A bit morbid perhaps, but it is good adventure fodder. Enjoy and happy gaming!

Sort:  

@xyanthon,
I heard Mummies but never heard Ice Mummies! Fantastic artwork!

Cheers~

This artwork seems so great wonderful :)

Vikings have been romanticized beyond all reason. They were hardy men with even a harder lifestyle. Your picture actually paints an accurate description, makes it more relatable to those who have studied history a bit.
BTW, love the mummified beard!

Thank you! Yes, I totally agree with the over-romanticization. I think it actually is problematic across most contemporary fantasy depictions now days. But that is my taste. I prefer a little more verisimilitude in my work. Fantasy seems to be all the more fantastic to me when it is in human scale.

Kind of reachable...........

excellent art.

Wonderful ART ❤️ @xyanthon

God art

Wonderful art sir... ☺ sir if you are plz visit my drawing once. thanks in advance ☺

Hello excellent drawing, I congratulate you, your impeccable technique, I also draw you I invite you to my block

Very nice piece :)
As a dane I enjoy Norse artwork, so please hit me up with more

@xyanthon - Sir you made another brilliant artwork... The gaming industry needs people like you do Sir...

+W+

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84