🐺 [Contest Entry] Robert from "On the Exotic Shores of a Black Hole contest "

in #art7 years ago

My entry for this contest by @geekpowered

The contest:

Draw something from his story.

My pick

Robert the butler robot that's not a butler robot

The entry

7.jpg

The road to the result

Rough sketch

1.jpg

Lining

2.jpg

More lining

4.jpg

Basic colors and shading

5.jpg

Colors colors colors

6.jpg

Background and little details

7.jpg

Let me know what you think. and most importantly :P let @geekpowered know what you think.

Resteem, vote, reply, rejoice and pizza!

Thank you guys

🐺 @wolv

Sort:  

Cute little robot. Reminded me of movie called Short Circuit where robot was named Johnny number 5. Recommend! ^^

O YES!!!! I Remember that one! I loved it!!! My little nerd self was a big fan of any robot related things.
Hell... if the rumba would have existed back then I'd probably sit inside all day petting it

"Johnny 5 is ALIVE!"

Yip can totally see that is a Robert, I like how even his eyes are bit odd sized, now I can imagine him better when reading the story also, for some reason I have some difficulty seeing the bots and ship but this will work very well indeed.

This man deserves a Scuttlebutt.

Yeah I struggled picturing the robots too... So it took a while for me to draw him. I just kept in mind that most of his ship is second hand, so probably the robots and the spare parts he used to fix them when necessary were too.

Scuttlebutt also was quite the challenge.... I always pictured a bottle... Then I realized that a bottle in space doesn't really work that well...

At first I pictured a can, and was even going to do a scene where he crushed the can, as a joke, but then I realized a can wouldn't work in space. Then I started to consider a fancy can where the bottom moved up like a syringe...but then I decided to just leave it unanswered...

Yeah I had a couple other ideas too... like a bottle with an airpump, a tube, a plastic bottle that was easily squeezed... but then a capricun commercial came on

This is actually really close to how I imagined him, but taller.

I actually only added the head part later... it just looked like a nifty bot without the had... But then I remembered the story talking about it's face being there to please humans... so in came the bucket head

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31