LOST IN LIFE #2 | Student Loans 💩

in #art7 years ago (edited)


A Steemit Exclusive Series:

Lost in Life - Ep 2. Student Loans

"I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious."
-Albert Einstein.

Untitled_Artwork.jpg

<<< CLICK HERE for episode #1


Jet lag is real. I took a 20 hour flight to visit my family who I had not seen in over 2 years now. I actually finished this comic in the airplane on the way home, but was too jet lagged to write this short description that you are reading. So, of course, my jet lag decided that 4 am, the day after arriving is the perfect time to post this! So here I am!

About Episode 2:

The theme today is about student loans. The vein of my existence. I think that everyone knows what they're getting into when they sign up for students loans. It's not like we are tricked into signing a paper with giant interest charges. But it still doesn't change the fact that it feels like a prison sentence. A voluntary prison sentence.

"Oh, hello. So you wan't to be a teacher? Well, just sign here and we can make your dreams come true...

Just one thing, by signing this we will make it so that you probably wont be able to afford having a car payment and/or mortgage at the same time. Hell, you better start looking for roommates because paying for an apartment on your own AND student loans ain't gonna happen. Foods not looking too good either. Hopefully you live near your parents."

For those of us who have no scholarships or parents who can pay for our education, student loans are pretty much the only option out there if you want to pursue a higher education. And that truly sucks. I am a huge advocate of education. The more knowledge that you can acquire, the better.

But, how much of our hard work, energy, and potential are we donating to student loans? Certainly more than they are worth.

The only ray of hope is that these days, thanks to the internet, those of us who can't afford loans have other options. The number of people foregoing standard college degrees these days is on the rise. Why? Because people would rather focus their time and energy towards creating something that they love on a platform that is always looking for original content. I don't necessarily mean Steemit, but that's the thing...there are SO many options out there.

You've just got to go out and find them. And when you can't find them? Even better.

Create them.


If you enjoyed this comic and want to see more, don't forget to follow!

With love,
~ Jay

Sort:  

Great #2 Lost In Life! Loved the concept and the irony of student loans and debt. What a way to start off a career with so much burden! It literally is like a ball and chain feeling. I'm so glad you are able to follow your passion with this comic series. Here's to your success! Congratulations!

You know what really gets you are the advanced degrees. I paid off my first degree several years after graduating. But, my Masters Degree? Yikes! I'll be paying on that, while also paying for my children's college education, forever.

Nice comic, I love your use of tone!

Congratulations @wlsghwjd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68