Watercolor Kit Essentials - Starting the hobby of watercolor

in #art6 years ago

Thinking about picking up watercolor as a hobby? Excellent! You'll love it. I've been doing watercolor for a few years now. I can't really remember what sparked my interest in this craft. It may have stemmed from an evening of YouTube binge watching where I happened upon this show called Colour in Your Life. Joseph Zbukvic, a master in watercolor, was the guest on the show and he did a demonstration that left me in awe. Since then I've dedicated many a free hours into creating my own artwork and style.

Anyway, I thought you could use a little laundry list of supplies you will need to get your watercolor habit off the ground. Just a word of warning though, once you start collecting art supplies it's like a drug. You always need more...even though you probably have plenty. You'll nervously search online art stores trying to figure out what bodily organ you can sell so you can buy more art supplies. I'm down a kidney and my gallbladder already and I think I can get a great easel for one of my lungs.

tubes.JPG

Paints & Palettes

Everyone has an opinion on who makes the best watercolor paints. Ask 10 different artists which watercolor paint is the best and you'll probably get 10 different brands. When starting out you don't have to go "hog wild" and spring for the $10.00 tubes.

Whoops, I'm getting ahead of myself though. When you're starting out I recommend getting a pre-made set. That's right home squeeze! They make kits that include all the colors you will probably need when starting out and you don't have to lose precious sleep looking at color swatches in search of that perfect blue until your eyes bleed. These kits usually include "pans" of colors, a palette to mix your colors and a brush. Pans are just hardened versions of what you'd find in the tubes which makes the mobility of the kit pretty sweet.

Here are a few sets I recommend you invest in (don't buy all of them, you just need one...jeeesh!):

Here are the two palettes I use. I use this one when I'm a lazy ass and don't feel like leaving the house.
home-palate.JPG

This mobile palette is one I use when I look like a creepy old dude at the park and don't want to cart around all my art supplies. (The brush is the Silver Brush Black Velvet Voyager - size 6.
travel-palate.JPG


brushes.JPG

Brushes

Brushes can be one of the most important investments you make. You can spend a lot of time and money searching for the right brush for you. Lucky for you you have me as a friend. I will lead you to the promise land brother! Or sister!

Brushes come in all sorts of shapes and sizes. You have rounds, flats, brights, fans, quills, riggers... Not to mention the various bristle materials that are available like plastic, animal fur and synthetic blends. I sucked at picking brushes when I was starting out. I went "cheapo" and I quickly got frustrated with the results.

First lets tackle the size. You can get away with a large round brush, a medium round brush and a small script brush. The large round brush (size 10) will be used when you need to paint large areas in your picture. Simple enough. The medium round brush (size 8) will help you with smaller areas that need a healthy amount of color. The small script brush (size 4) will be your go-to when you need to do some finer detail. If you work with smaller pieces of watercolor paper you might want to add a small round brush (size 4) for some additional flexibility.

Bristle material really comes down to two choices. I recommend you lean towards the animal fur brushes or some synthetic blends that perform nearly identical to them. The common animal fur used in watercolor brushes is sable or squirrel/mink tail fur. I prefer the non-dead animal options especially since, from my experience, they are much cheaper and perform nearly identically. Save the squirrels...or minks!

Here are some non-dead animal options from Princeton Neptune and Silver Brush that are incredible:


papers.jpg

Paper

I get anxious when I see a blank sheet of watercolor paper. Anxious because I know that there's a chance I'm going to pour my heart into a painting then realize it looks like ass and have to throw it away. Luckily I don't do that often but it still scares me a little.

Like paints and brushes you will get many many opinions on what's the best watercolor paper. I personally don't have a preference in the brand. I normally like whatever is on sale. I do have four pointers for you.

Pointer number 1: You'll want a 300 gsm/ 140 lb. watercolor paper. What this means is a 300 gram per square meter / 140 pounds per ream. What this means is...umm...it means the paper is heavier, thicker and gooder for watercolor. Yep, I snuck a gooder in there. Heavier/thicker paper means it'll hold the water better and reduce the buckling that water can create on paper. While 140 lb. watercolor paper is optimal, you also have a choice of 90 lb. which is obviously thinner or 300 lb. which is heavier. You should be able to find 140 lb. at your local hobby store though.

Pointer number 2: There's another component of paper known as the finish. At least that's what I call it. The finish is measured by the smoothness of the paper. Three common types of finishes include hot pressed, cold pressed and rough.

  • Hot Pressed means the paper will be extremely smooth like a baby's bottom...only there won't be poo on it.
  • Cold Pressed means the paper will have some texture or some "teeth" as they say in the industry.
  • Rough means the paper is extremely textured which can add some additional character to your painting if that's your desire.

Pointer number 3: Get watercolor paper that is acid free and consists of 100% cotton. It should say both on the cover. Cotton is stronger than plain wood pulp paper and dammit we are watercolor artists, we are the epitome of strength! Acid free means you can lick the paper all you want and you won't have an LSD trip. Wait. That's not right. Acid free means the paper will not yellow after it sits around for a while.

Pointer number 4: For convenience, look for watercolor blocks. Blocks are sheets of watercolor paper glued around the edges to keep them together so they form a...wait for it...block. You paint on the top sheet of the block. When you are done you run a palette knife or, like me, a butter knife around the edge and release the sheet you painted on. Then you can start painting your next masterpiece. The glued edges usually keep the paper tight while you work. Blocks of watercolor paper are in a variety of sizes so find a size you are comfortable painting on. Tip: If you are just practicing you can do multiple practice paintings on one sheet by sectioning it out.


accessories.JPG

Accessories

Some artists can get by using just their paint brushes and paint to create their masterpieces. I need to create a rough sketch on the paper using pencil before I even think about adding any paint. When the painting is finished you may need to add some finer details which are easily done with an archive quality pen. In my picture above you'll see I use a normal art pencil, kneaded eraser, a black archive quality pen and a white gel pen. I also have a sepia (reddish brown) archive quality pen when the black pen is too overpowering. If you can snag a pencil sharpener you should have all the accessories you need to begin your career...living...hobby of painting.

setup.jpg

Where the Magic Happens

The picture above is what my typical work area looks like. I tend to setup shop on the kitchen island because it's conveniently big, I have easy access to food and I like when my wife criticizes my work while I'm painting. Love you honey. (I lied, I hate it!)

Here's a little description of what you see in the picture:
A: Pad or block of watercolor paper
B: Brushes I'm using
C: Old rag for cleaning brushes or removing excess water
D: Watercolor palette - mine is always messy
E: Water for cleaning brush and mixing...and occasionally drinking when I think it's my coffee. Yuck!
F: Sketch supplies

And that, my friends, is all you should need to begin your adventure in watercolor. There are a number of videos on YouTube you can watch to get additional painting pointers. I believe it's important to jump in and learn by doing. Thankfully, paper grows on trees so if you mess up you can start over. (I used the "grows on trees" reference for comedic effect, if you were paying attention you should be getting 100% cotton paper.)

Some Study Material

Alan Owen - This guy's loose technique is awesome and accessible to everyone.
Peter Steeler - Love his technique. He can give you additional ideas.
The Mind of Watercolor - Steve Mitchell is an amazing artist. You can get a ton of ideas by just watching how he works.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by WizardofCheeze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I see someone’s been curied! Natural growth does pay off! Stopping by with my congratulations to you. Shame that I don’t have comedic or artistic talents. My watercolors would be a killin’ with my perception of life. Hmm...or maybe not. 🙂

Yes, it was a surprise as I’m trying to be a curator for Curie. Curie really is looking out for talented Steemit writers that haven’t made their mark yet. Great group of people there. You are a comedic writer btw...the cookie post rocked. And you are a professional flower photographer! I found pleasure in viewing the pictures. 😃

Definitely a good surprise then! Oh, you’re throwing in your hat to be Curator too? I am too but honestly, I just don’t have time to scout for talent. See how long it takes me to get back to people?

Only reason I threw my name in the hat is because I wanted to help out the @newbieresteemday acct. It’s the curation acct from our community to help newbies. Many newbies have been curied so I was trying to see if I could help grow that acct to give the newbies that don’t get curied more of an upvote punch. Yeeeaahh, life is just too busy. I do go into the room to submit a post here and there, but not active enough to become a curator. Good luck to you!

Aww thanks for the sweet words. Never thought of myself as a comedic writer, lol. Think I’m too much on the sarcasm borderline rather than funny. I would hate to spread around those bad vibes. 🙂

Very interesting! I do want to learn painting with water color, it seems so hard for me :D

I thought the same thing. I'm normally just a sketch artist and never really did any finished work. But once you jump into the watercolor world you find that it's a lot easier than you think. There are a number of sub-styles of watercolor where you can really explore the paper and your subjects. Please do give it a try.

I am so happy to have stumbled upon this post... very informative, and very amusing. I love the way you write! You've got a new follower here.

I've dabbled with watercolor off and on most of my life. It really is amazing how different supplies will change the look of a painting. I just convinced myself to upgrade from my "cheapy-cheapy" tubes of paint to this little Prima pallet of pans and it's already amazing me how much better the pigments are. Up next, I'm going to have to find myself some cotton paper.
Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Thank you for the kinds words and follow! I've read great reviews on those Prima paints. I love Parka Blog's reviews and demonstrations.

Hey great little guide to getting started with water colors! You are inspiring me to get out the supplies I bought a few years ago and then promptly never used :( Very well written and formatted post.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your posting.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the current Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Yes. Yes you can use text/images
Brief statement: I've been on Steemit for about 2 months and I'm working on becoming a curator for Curie. Through my time as a prospective curator I've learned a ton about how to recognize exceptional quality posts and I have been trying to implement them into my own posts. I owe this distinction to Curie and the great group of people there. Thank you!

Hi @wizardofcheeze ,

The new Curie Author Showcase which features this post is up and ready for viewing.

Thanks for creating great content!
Gene (@curie curator)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60700.74
ETH 2389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64